Georgia Genealogy (state)Edit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Georgia (state) genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records
- This article is about the southern U.S. state. For the Eurasian country, see Georgia (country).
|News and Events|
|Georgia Genealogical Society events|
Welcome to the Georgia page,
the Peach State
- Trustees sent 5000 British colonists
- In 1734 Salzburgers, central European Protestants, settled Effingham Co.
- From 1805-1832 GA held eight land lotteries to give away Indian lands
|How to Find Information about Georgia Ancestors|
There are 159 counties in Georgia:click here.
Georgia State Archives · Georgia Genealogical Society · Georgia Historical Society · Atlanta History Center · Atlanta Public Library · Salzburger Society · National Archives Southeast Region (Atlanta) · Dallas Public Central Library
Atlantic Coast Ports · Augusta and Cherokee Trail · Augusta-St. Augustine Trail · Augusta-Savannah Trail · Charleston-Ft. Charlotte Trail · Charleston-Savannah Trail · Cisca and St. Augustine Trail · Coosa-Tugaloo Indian Warpath · Fall Line Road · Federal Horse Path · Federal Road · Fort Charlotte and Cherokee Old Path · Fort Moore-Charleston Trail · Georgia Road · Great Valley Road · King's Highway · Lower Cherokee Traders' Path · Lower Creek Trading Path · Macon and Montgomery Trail · Middle Creek Trading Path · Nickajack Trail · Occaneechi Path · Old Cherokee Path · Old Trading Path · Savannah-Jacksonville Trail · Savannah River · Southern Road · Tugaloo-Apalachee Bay Trail · Unicoi Trail · Upper Road
- Georgia Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- How to order Georgia Vital Records
- State of Georgia County & City Government Court links
- The Georgia GenWeb Project provides county information about formation date, parent county, county seat, bibliography, cemeteries, census, churches, towns, history, look ups, obituaries, queries, repositories, surname registry, and many Internet links.
- Looking 4 Kin Genealogy & Family History Network - Georgia
- Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps and Atlases
- Georgia Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- List of Georgia Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies
- Digital Library of Georgia is a repository of digitized books, manuscripts, photographs, government documents, newspapers, maps, audio, video, and other resources about Georgia.
- History & Facts of Georgia Counties
- American Revolutionary War (1775-1783)
- The American Civil War
- Georgia Historic Newspapers has a searchable collection of digitized newspapers, some dating from the early 1800s. A great source for legal notices about estate administrations, public land sales and some deaths and marriages, as well as contemporaneous reporting on the events of a particular time.
- Georgia Virtual Vault is a "portal to some of Georgia's most important historical documents, from 1733 to the present," a treasure trove that includes Headright and Bounty Plats of Survey, Wilkes County Court Records, Marriage Records from Microfilm, Colonial Wills, Chatham County Deeds, General Name File index cards and Historial Maps, to name just a few.
- Georgia Historical Counties is an interactive map that allows you to see where county lines were located on a specific date, beginning in 1765.
- Family Tree Encyclopedia - Terminology & Meanings of Genealogical Terms
- Printable Genealogy Forms used in Research
- Research in Georgia Military Records
Wiki articles describing online collections are found at:
- Georgia, Births and Christenings (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- Georgia, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- Georgia, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- Georgia Death Index (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- Georgia Death Records, 1914-1927 (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- Georgia Death Records,1928-1930 (FamiySearch Historical Records)
- Georgia Headright and Bounty Land Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- Georgia Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)
Did You Know?
- Civil War soldiers from Georgia served in both the Union and the Confederate Armies. Indexes and the compiled military service records are available at the Family History Library and the National Archives.
- The Georgia Department of Archives and History has many volumes of Bible records that have been collected by the Daughters of the American Revolution.
- Georgia Blacksheep Ancestors has many indexes to help you locate infamous Georgia ancestors.
- Atlanta Historical Tidbits
Obtain additional help
- Call or chat with an experienced researcher
- Join a Facebook Group
- Consult a Professional Genealogist
In order to make this wiki a better research tool, we need your help! Many tasks need to be done. You can help by:
To add your knowledge and help expand the wiki click here:
- ↑ E. Merton Coulter, and Albert Berry Saye, List of Early Settlers of Georgia (1967 reprint; Athens, Ga.: Univ. or Georgia Press, 1949). (FHL Collection Book 975.8 W2L; Fiche 6038205) [WorldCat entry], and Karen Buss, An every name index to "A List of the Early Settlers of Georgia" (Burbank, Calif:Southern California Genealogical Society, 1992) (FHL Collection Book 975.8 W2L 1967 index; Fiche 6038205).
- ↑ Alice Eichholz, ed., Redbook: American State, County, and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 146. (FHL Book 973 D27rb). [WorldCat entry].
- ↑ Georgia, Department of State, "Land Office Records, Index" (Atlanta, Ga.: Georgia Department of State, Microfilm Division, [19--). (FHL Collection Film 465173-84).
- This page was last modified on 6 February 2015, at 03:27.
- This page has been accessed 47,105 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News