German Research StrategiesEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
The following search strategies will be helpful when conducting research for records unique to various localities:
In this context Baden refers to the Grand Duchy of Baden as it existed between 1806 and 1918.
Finding a place of origin
A card index of emigrants listing home towns filmed at the Karlsruhe State Archive is available on FHL microfilms 1180096-1180217. Most emigrants listed in this set are from the northern half of Baden. A different index is available online at www.auswanderer-bw.de/auswanderer/index.php.
Civil registration in Baden began on 1 Jan 1876. These records have not been microfilmed.
Both Lutheran and Catholic church records are available through the Family History Library system. Catholic records often start later and have more gaps. Many parish registers are available into the 20th Century. Beginning in 1808, many registers have indexes, which are often located at the end of the volume. Jewish families are included in some parish registers.
Brandenburg, Preussen, Germany
Hannover, Preussen, Germany
Hessen-Nassau, Preussen, Germany
Hohenzollern, Preussen, Germany
Ostpreussen, Preussen, Germany
Pommern, Preussen, Germany
Posen, Preussen, Germany
Rheinland, Preussen, Germany
Sachsen, Preussen, Germany
Schlesien, Preussen, Germany
Schleswig-Holstein, Preussen, Germany
Westfalen, Preussen, Germany
Westpreussen, Preussen, Germany
- This page was last modified on 3 January 2009, at 16:41.
- This page has been accessed 4,511 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News