Gibson County, IndianaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Indiana Gotoarrow.png Gibson County

Guide to Gibson County Indiana genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Indiana
Online Records
Gibson County, Indiana
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Indiana
Location of Indiana in the U.S.
Facts
Founded March 9, 1813
County Seat Princeton
Courthouse
Address Gibson County Courthouse
101 N Main Street
Princeton, IN 47670
Phone: 812.386.8401
Adopt-a-wiki page
Indiana Genealogical Society.JPG This page adopted by:
Indiana Genealogical Society
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

Contents

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Land
Probate
1882*
1813*
1880*
1836
1813
*For earlier dates,

try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

  • Parent Counties: Formed March 9, 1813 from Knox[1]
  • County Seat: Princeton[2]


Neighboring Counties

Knox  • Pike  • Warrick  • Vanderburgh  • Posey  • White  • Wabash

Martin CountyVanderburgh CountySpencer CountyDubois CountyDaviess CountyKnox CountyLawrence CountyRichland CountyWabash CountyEdwards CountyWhite CountyGallatin CountyPike CountyWarrick CountyUnion CountyHenderson CountyDaviess CountyMcLean CountyGibson CountyPosey CountyWayne CountyINGibson.JPG


Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Indiana County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Indiana County Boundary Maps" (1790-1873) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Indiana Counties see: Indiana Counties with Burned Courthouses

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business Records

Cemeteries

Census Records

For tips on accessing Gibson County, Indiana census records online, see: Indiana Census.

  • Partial Census for Gibson County - INGenWeb

Church Records

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository.

Catholic

St. Bernard Catholic Parish

St. James Catholic Parish

For more information about these major repositories, see Indiana Church Records.

Finding More Church Records

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Gibson County, Indiana Church Records in online catalogs like:

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic and Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogies

Histories

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Gibson County, Indiana. County histories may include biographies; church, school and government histories; and military information.

  • Jas. T. Tartt & Co. 1978. History of Gibson County, Indiana: with illustrations descriptive of its scenery, and biographical sketches of some of its prominent men and pioneers. (Evansville, Ind: Unigraphic.) 977.235 H2ga FHL US/CAN Book   FHL Collection   other libraries
  • Stormont, Gil R. 2008. History of Gibson County, Indiana: her people, industries and institutions, with biographical sketches of representative citizens and genealogical records of many of the old families. (Indianapolis: B.F. Bowen.)   FHL US/CAN Film 934905 Item 1 FHL Collection   other libraries     INTERNET ARCHIVE
  • Tartt, James T.,  History of Gibson County, Indiana  (Digital images of original published: Edwardsville, Ill., 1884. 244 p. : ill., maps, port. ; 31 cm.) FamilySearch Books OnlineFHL Collection
  • Cunningham, Leland S. 1975. Early Hazleton, Indiana. S.l: s.n.].  other libraries   INGenWeb


For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Indiana Local Histories.

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

After land was transferred from the government to private ownership, subsequent transactions were recorded at the courthouse, where records are currently housed.

  • Index to Documents Proving Land Titles for Gibson County - INGenWeb

See Indiana Land and Property for additional information about early Indiana land grants and patents.

Finding More Land Records

Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Gibson County, Indiana Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Maps

Military Records

Civil War

Civil War service men from Gibson County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Gibson County


Civil War Books


  • "The War For The Union" in "Patrictish" Chapter 11 of Jas. T. Tartt & Co. 1978. History of Gibson County, Indiana: with illustrations descriptive of its scenery, and biographical sketches of some of its prominent men and pioneers. (Evansville, Ind: Unigraphic.), (page 104-135, Regiment, Companies, Name's), 977.235 H2ga FHL US/CAN Book FHL Collection   other libraries
  • "Civil War" in "Military History of Gibsob County" Chapter 15 of Stormont, Gil R. 2008. History of Gibson County, Indiana: her people, industries and institutions, with biographical sketches of representative citizens and genealogical records of many of the old families. (Indianapolis: B.F. Bowen.), (pagr 209-223, Regiment, Companies)  FHL US/CAN Film 934905 Item 1 FHL Collection   other libraries   INTERNET ARCHIVE
  • Gibson County in the civil war; an address by Col. Gil. R. Stormont, at the dedication of the Gibson County soldiers monument at Princeton, Indiana, on Nov. 12, 1913 [i.e. 1912] History of other monuments in Gibson County. other library  INTERNET ARCHIVE
World War I (The Great War), 1914-1918
World War II, 1941-1945

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Probate Records

In most counties in Indiana, probate records have been kept by the county clerk of the circuit court. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

Finding More Probate Records

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Gibson County, Indiana Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Public Records

Gibson County Free Public Records Directory

School Records
Voter Registration

Repositories

See also a List of Indiana Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Courthouse

Gibson County Courthouse
101 N Main Street
Princeton, IN 47670
Phone: 812.386.8401

History of the county courthouse

County Health Department has birth and death records.
County Clerk has marriage records from 1813,
divorce, probate and court records from 1820. [4]

Archives
Libraries
  • The principal library in Gibson county is the Princeton Public Library, in the county seat.  It is located at 124 S. Hart St., Princeton, IN 47670; its phone number is (812) 385-4464. Older property and other records are located there.
Museums
Societies
Family History Centers

FamilySearch Centers are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources for family history research.

The main FamilySearch Center for Gibson County, Indiana is the

For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the Family History Center directory.

Taxation

Indiana tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties.

For more information see the wiki page Indiana Taxation.

Vital Records

  • Indiana State Digital Achives for Death, E-Publication, Instiution, Military, Misc Historical, Naturalization Records can be searched by person name (accessed 26 May 2011)
Birth Records
Marriage Records
Death Records

Finding Vital Records at Other Repositories

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Gibson County, Indiana Vital Records in online catalogs like:


Web Sites

Places

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Gobson County, Indiana" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclo pedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gibson_County,_Indiana (accessed 10 May 2012).
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/9/91/Igiindiana.pdf.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Gibson County, Indiana 212 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 16 April 2014, at 02:24.
  • This page has been accessed 10,588 times.