Gilchrist County, Florida GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Gilchrist County, Florida)

United States  go to  Florida  go to  Gilchrist County

Guide to Gilchrist County, Florida ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


Gilchrist County, Florida
Map of Florida highlighting Gilchrist County
Location in the state of Florida
Map of the U.S. highlighting Florida
Location of Florida in the U.S.
Founded December 4, 1925
County Seat Trenton
Adopt-a-wiki page
Flgenlogo100.png This page adopted by:
The FLGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
and its representative
Gilchrist County FLGenWeb
Adopt a page today


County Information

Gilchrist County, Florida Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1926 1830 1926 1926

County Courthouse

Gilchrist County Courthouse
112 S Main Street
Trenton, FL 32693
Phone: 352.463.3170

Clerk Circuit Court has marriage, divorce, probate and court records from 1926. [2]


Parent County

1925--Gilchrist County was created 4 December 1925 from Alachua County.
County seat: Trenton [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Florida county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Florida County Boundary Maps" (1821-1997) may be viewed for free at the website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Florida counties see: Florida Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Alachua • Columbia • Dixie • Lafayette • Levy • Suwannee
Lafayette CountySuwannee CountyColumbia CountyUnion CountyGilchrist CountyDixie CountyLevy CountyAlachua CountyFL Gilchrist.jpg


African American



For tips on accessing Gilchrist County, Florida Genealogy census records online, see: Florida Census.


Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Florida denominations, view the Florida Church Records wiki page.



Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Florida Land and Property for additional information about early Florida land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Florida Territorial Land Records

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Gilchrist County, Florida Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Florida Local Histories.





Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Gilchrist County, Florida Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


  • Florida Obituaries  -  Obituary transcriptions from Florida counties -  USGenWeb Obituaries Project


Probate records are held by the Gilchrist County, Florida Genealogy Clerk of Court and are housed at the Gilchrist County, Florida Genealogy Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Florida Probate Records, 1784-1990. See the wiki page Florida Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.


Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Florida Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Florida Department of Health, Bureau of Vital Statistics, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online. See also How to order Florida Vital Records

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Florida.

Birth Records
Death Records
Divorce Records
Marriage Records

Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See [[Introduction to LDS Family History Centers|Family History Center] for more information. Search the [ online FHC director for a nearby family history center.

Web Sites


  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 123-139. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Gilcrhist County, Florida. Page 134 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 23 September 2015, at 04:45.
  • This page has been accessed 8,947 times.