Gilpin County, ColoradoEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United StatesGotoarrow.pngColoradoGotoarrow.pngGilpin County

Guide to Gilpin County Colorado genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Colorado
Online Records


Gilpin County, Colorado
Map
Map of Colorado highlighting Gilpin County
Location in the state of Colorado
Map of the U.S. highlighting Colorado
Location of Colorado in the U.S.
Facts
Founded November 1, 1861
County Seat Central City
Courthouse
Address Gilpin County Courthouse
203 Eureka Street
PO Box 366
Central City, CO 80427-0366
Phone: 303.582.5321
Gilpin County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

County Clerk has marriage records from 1881
and land recordsc from 1861; Clerk District Court
had divorce and probate records[1]

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Tax
Land
Probate
1882 [2]*
1865[3] *
1877 [2]*
1861 ?
1861 ?
1861 ?
*For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

County Seat

Central City [4]

Gilpin and Jefferson County Vital Records
800 Jefferson County Parkway
Golden, CO 80419
303-271-6450
Fax 303-271-6451


Gilpin County Clerk / Recorder
203 Eureka St.
PO Box 429
Central City, CO 80427
Phone: 303.582.5321
Fax: 303.565.1797
Email:  gcclerk@co.gilpin.co.us


Parent County

Cogilpin.jpg
1861--Gilpin County was created 1 November 1861 as an original county from Arapahoe (old) County, Kansas Territory.

Neighboring Counties

Record Loss

Resources

Cemeteries

Mount Olivet Cemetery, Golden BillionGraves

Census

For tips on accessing Gilpin County, Colorado census records online, see: Colorado Census.

Church Records

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Colorado denominations, view the Colorado Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Chancery Court Cases documenting legal decisions rendered by the territorial and district court of Gilpin County for the years 1862 - 1878. Chancery cases are those types of cases where justice was applied in circumstances not specifically covered by law during these years. Names appearing on this index most likely include some of the early gold seekers that came west in search of fortune and fame.

Directories

Local History and Biography

Local histories are available for Gilpin County, Colorado. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Colorado Local Histories.

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Colorado Land and Property for additional information about early Colorado land grants.

After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where current records are also housed.

Maps

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Gilpin County, Colorado newspapers in online catalogs like:

Colorado Historic Newspapers Collection has searchable digital copies of newspapers from all over the state of Colorado. The list of newspapers available for Gilpin county includes the Daily Mining Journal (Nov 1863 - Dec 1866) from Black Hawk, and the Daily Register Call (March 1868 - Feb 1879) and Evening Call (Feb 1878 - June 1878) from Central City. Newspapers that are available on this site date from 1859-1923 and are searchable.

Obituaries

Probate

Probate records have been kept by the county courts. Colorado probate records include bonds, affidavits, letters, claims, appraisals, fee accounts, minutes, judgments, dockets, calendars, case files, and wills. The Family History Library does not have copies of probate records from Colorado.

You may obtain copies of documents from the clerk's office in the county courthouse.

Repositories

Archives

The Colorado State Archives has the following records available in this online database Archives Search.

Gilpin County Bankruptcy Docket 1867 - 1876
Gilpin County Chancery Cases 1862 - 1878
Gilpin County District Court Filings 1861 - 1882
Gilpin County Probate Court Civil Case Filings 1874 - 1892
Gilpin County Inheritance Tax 1910 - 1922
Gilpin County Marriages 1864 - 1944

Courthouse
Family History Centers

FamilySearch Centers are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources for family history research.

Libraries

Gilpin County Library District
15131 Highway 119
Golden, CO 80403
Phone: (303) 582-5777
Website www.gilpinlibrary.org/

Museums
Societies
  • Gilpin Historical Society
    228 High Street
    P O Box 247
    Central City, Colorado 80427-0247
    Telephone: 303-582-5283
    Website http://www.gilpinhistory.org/

Taxation

Colorado tax records complement land records and can be used as supplements to censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records. To find tax records in the Family History Library Catalog, do a Place Search for the county.

Colorado State Archives has put the Gilpin County Inheritance Tax Records Index for the years 1910-1922 on-line

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Vital Records Section Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Colorado.

Colorado Vital Records

Birth

Birth records may become public records when 100 years have elapsed after the date of birth. EXCEPTION: The birth record of any individual who is known to be currently alive will remain confidential even if they are 100 years of age or greater. [5]

For in-state births from 1903 to present, certificates can be obtained from Jefferson County Vital Statistics office. For birth certificates before 1903 contact the county where the birth occurred or the State Health Department at (303) 756-4464.

If you are obtaining a birth certificate for a sibling, parent, grandparent, etc., you will need to show chain of relationship. Examples are: A sibling could provide their birth certificate to show same parents. If you are trying to get a grandparent's birth certificate you will need to show your birth certificate, plus your parent's birth certificate to show chain of relationship. If you have questions on this please call our office at 303-271-6450.

Marriage

The Gilpin County Recorder's office will search their indexes if you call or come in to the office. If a record is found, a copy can be purchased in person or by mail. Call 303 582-5321.

Death

Death records may become public records when 75 years have elapsed after the date of death. [5]

Certificates can be obtained from the Jefferson County Vital Statistics office.To obtain a recent death certificate, you must show a direct and tangible interest to the deceased. Relatives include wife, mother, father, child (if they are listed on the death certificate). If they are not listed on the death certificate they must show proof of relationship. This would include maternal grandparents, paternal grandparents, siblings if they can prove chain of relationship. If you have questions on this please call our office at 303-271-6450.

Divorce

All divorces and divorce records are handled by the Colorado Judicial District 1, County Combined Courts. Please contact their office directly at 303-271-6145 or Fax: 303-271-6188.

Jefferson County Combined Courts
100 Jefferson County Parkway
Golden CO 80401

Places

Black Hawk

Central City

Coal Creek

Nevadaville

Rollinsville

Pinecliff

Russell Gulch

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Gilpin County, Colorado. Page 98 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. 2.0 2.1 Earliest Colorado Vital Records on File in Colorado Counties, Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment, www.colorado.gov
  3. The Red Book, American State, County, and Town Sources. Edited by Alice Eichholz. (Ancestry, Provo; 3d ed, 2004.) Colorado article by Birdie Monk Holzclaw and Marsha Hoffman Rising. page 92,
  4. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  5. 5.0 5.1 Letter from Colorado State Registrar, Dated September 1, 2011. Policy Number 2011- 08. http://www.colorado.gov

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 April 2014, at 02:29.
  • This page has been accessed 4,811 times.