Gladsmuir, East Lothian, Scotland GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Scotland Gotoarrow.png East LothianGotoarrow.png Gladsmuir

Parish #708

This is a guide to the history and major genealogical records of Scotland as they pertain to the parish of Gladsmuir. To learn more about how to use these records to search for your ancestors, go to the Scotland: Research Strategies.


Contents

History

GLADSMUIR, a parish, in the county of Haddington, 3½ miles (E. by N.) from Tranent; containing the villages of Samuelston, Long Niddry, and Penston. This place, which was anciently a wide uncultivated moor, is supposed to have derived its name from its being the resort of vast numbers of kites. The church, situated nearly in the centre of the parish, is a handsome structure, and adapted for a congregation of about 750 persons.[1]

The New Statistical Account of Scotland (pub. 1834-45) offers uniquely rich and detailed parish reports for the whole of Scotland, covering a vast range of topics including history, agriculture, education, trades, religion and social customs. The reports, written by the parish ministers, are available online at http://edina.ac.uk/stat-acc-scot/. Click on ‘Browse scanned pages’ then search the parish reports for your parish of interest. Also available at the Family History Library.

 Census Records

A census record is a count and description of the population, taken by the government, arranged by locality and by household. Read more about Scotland Census Records.

Here is a list of the Family History Library microfilm numbers for the census records of Gladsmuir, as well as the library numbers for any surname indexes available.

The 1901 census of Scotland is indexed on www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk. To use it, you must register and pay a small access fee. All available censuses, 1841-1901, are indexed on this website. It may be easier for you to pay to use the website rather than access the separate indexes through the library.


Church Records

The Established Church of Scotland was Presbyterian. Read more about Scotland Church Records.

Here are the pre-1855 records that exist for this parish.

Established Church—Old Parochial Registers

 

Event Type Years Covered FHL Film Number
Births: 1688-1792 - baptisms 1067798 item 3-4

1793-1855 1067799 item 1-2
Marriages: 1692-1780 1067798 item 3-4

1780-1854 1067799 item 1-2
Deaths: 1746-1854 - burials 1067799 item 1-2

Condition of Original Registers—

Indexed: For an index to these records, see the Scottish Church Records Index on computer at the Family History Library and family history center.  Some records may be indexed in the International Genealogical Index. 
Births: This record seems to have been kept with regularity, except for a blank 1734–1760.
Marriages: Records are blank 1733–April 1766, excluding transcribed entries of irregular marriages May 1738–June 1770.
Deaths: There are only transcribed entries of “Mortcloth Dues” prior to 1852 and they are blank 1815–1820. Two entries of deaths for 1814 and 1836 respectively are with the baptisms for 1803, and two entries for 1832 and 1837, are with marriages 1804.
Source: Key to the Parochial Registers of Scotland, by V. Ben Bloxham, pub. 1970. British Book 941 K23b.


Established Church—Kirk Session Records

The Kirk session was the court of the parish. The Kirk session was made up of he minister and the land owners and business men of the parish, chosen to serve on the session. The Kirk session dealt with moral issues, minor criminal cases, matters of the poor and education, matters of discipline, and the general concerns of the parish. Kirk session records may also mention births, marriages, and deaths.

Here is a list of the surviving Kirk session records for this parish:

Minutes 1692–1711, 1737–1815, 1833–1885
Note: Available at the National Archives of Scotland, Edinburgh, record CH2/169.

Photos of the Parish Churches in Gladsmuir

www.clerkington.plus.com/GENUKI/ELN/Gladsmuir/church.html


Nonconformist Church Records

A nonconformist church is any church that is not the Established church. Read more about nonconformity in Scotland in the article on the Scotland Church Records Union List.


Penston Branch, Church of Jesus Christ of Latter–Day Saints

Records—
                                                           FHL Film Number
Record of Members          1851–1856     0104155 item 5

 Civil Registration Records

Government or civil registration of births, marriages, and deaths (also called Statutory records) began on January 1, 1855 in Scotland. Each parish has a registrar's office and large cities have several. The records are created by the registrars and copies are sent to the General Register Office in Edinburgh. Annual indexes are then created for the records for the whole country.
See the article on Scotland Civil Registration for more information and to access the records.


Probate Records

Gladsmuir was under the probate jurisdiction of the Commissary Court of Edinburgh until 1823, and since then has been under the Sheriff's Court of Haddington. Probate records for 1513- 1901 are indexed online at www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk . You must register on the website but use of the index to probate records, called 'Wills & Testaments,' is free. You may then purchase a copy of the document or, if the document is before 1823, it will be on microfilm at the Family History Library. To find the microfilm numbers, search in the library catalog

for the 'Place-names' of East Lothian and the subject of 'Probate records.' Then click on the link to the records of the Commissariat of Edinburgh.

The library also has some post-1823 probate records for East Lothian. Look in the library catalog

for the 'Place-names' of East Lothian and the subjects of 'Probate Records' and 'Probate Records - Indexes.'

Read more about Scotland Probate Records.

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Scotland (1846), pp. 458-478. Adapted. Date accessed: 04 April 2014.

Return to the East Lothian parish list.


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 February 2015, at 18:53.
  • This page has been accessed 2,132 times.