Glanford Bridge, Lincolnshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Glanford Bridge, Lincolnshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.pngLincolnshire Parishes

Guide to Glanford Bridge, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Glanford Bridge, Lincolnshire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Yarborough
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Glandford Brigg PLU
Registration District Glanford Brigg
Records begin
Parish registers: 1840; For more records see Bigby and Wrawby
Bishop's Transcripts: None; See Wrawby
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Yarborough
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Glanford Bridge was a chapelry in Bigby, Lincolnshire and Wrawby, Lincolnshire Ancient Parishes.

The chapel, dedicated to St. Mary, was erected in 1699,at the expense of four gentlemen, who endowed it with certain estates vested in their respective heirs and the trustees of the free school; it was rebuilt in 1842, and is now a handsome edifice in the pointed style, with a tower 82 feet high, the whole erected at a cost of £3000,defrayed by subscription, aided by a grant from the Church Building Society.

GLANDFORD BRIGG or BRIDGE, a market-town and chapelry, and the head of a union, in the parish of Wrawby, S. division of the wapentake of Yarborough, parts of Lindsey, county of Lincoln, 24 miles (N. by E.) from Lincoln, and 153 (N. by W.) from London. The Friends, Independents, and Primitive and Wesleyan Methodists, have each a place of worship; and there is a chapel for Roman Catholics. [1]

Glanford Bridge is an alternative for Brigg, Lincolnshire and the rebuilt church of St John and it's post 1840 records are described in that page, see also Brigg Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Glanford Brigg registration district

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Prior to about 1840 consult the Wrawby, Lincolnshire parish registersSearch Wrawby Lincs to the Past

Post 1840 search Brigg, Lincolnshire St John

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Glanford Bridge

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438770.


See Lincolnshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Glanford Brigg Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 294-298. Date accessed: 21 August 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 1 May 2015, at 04:36.
  • This page has been accessed 1,733 times.