Glenmuick, Aberdeenshire, Scotland GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Scotland Gotoarrow.png Aberdeenshire Gotoarrow.png Glenmuick

Parish #201 (Tullich and Glengairn)

This is a guide to the history and major genealogical records of Scotland as they pertain to the parish of Glenmuick. To learn more about how to use these records to search for your ancestors, go to the Scotland: Research Strategies.



GLENMUICK, TULLICH, and GLENGAIRN, a parish, in the district of Kinchardine O'Neil, county of Aberdeen', 16 miles (W.) from Kincardine O'Neil; containing the village of Ballater. The compound Gaelic term Glean-muic, expressive of "a valley frequented by swine," is supposed to have been applied to this place from some part of it having been formerly celebrated for its breed of swine. The word Tullich is corrupted from tulach, signifying "rising grounds, or hillocks," and is descriptive of the vicinity of the village of Tullich. Glengairn is derived from the three words glean-garbh-amhain, meaning "the hollow or glen of the rough water," a term properly applied to the water of Gairn, on account of the rocky channel through which it pursues its course. The church, built in 1798, is a neat substantial edifice, with a spire; it is situated in the middle of a square in the village of Ballater, and has accommodation for about 800 persons. A missionary, in connexion with the Established Church, officiates in a chapel at Rinloan, in Glengairn, seven miles from Ballater. The members of the Free Church have a place of worship; and there is a Roman Catholic chapel on Gairnside, five miles distant from the church, and a second, a very small one, in another part.[1]

The New Statistical Account of Scotland (pub. 1834-45) offers uniquely rich and detailed parish reports for the whole of Scotland, covering a vast range of topics including history, agriculture, education, trades, religion and social customs. The reports, written by the parish ministers, are available online at  Click on ‘Browse scanned pages’ then search the parish reports for your parish of interest. Also available at the Family History Library.

Census Records

A census is a count and description of the population, taken by the government, arranged by locality and by household. Read more about census records.

Here is a list of the Family History Library microfilm numbers for the census records of Glenmuick as well as the library numbers for any surname indexes available:

FHL Film Number
Surname Indexes
6086502 (12 fiche)

The 1901 census of Scotland is indexed on To use it, you must register and pay a small access fee. All available censuses, 1841-1901, are indexed on this website. It may be easier for you to pay to use the website rather than access the separate indexes through the library.

Church Records

The Established Church of Scotland was Presbyterian. Read more about church records.
Here are the pre-1855 records that exist for this parish.

Established Church–Old Parochial Registers

Record Type
Years Covered
FHL Film Number
0993188 item 2
0993188 item 2

0993188 item 2
0993188 item 2


Condition of Original Registers—

Index: For an index to these records, see the Scottish Church Records Index available on computers at the Family History Library and family history centers.  The records may be indexed in the International Genealogical Index.
Births: The fly leaf contains irregular entries 1781–1811. After the record for 1820 there are four pages of irregular entries dated 1770–1822. Mothers’ names are not recorded until 1770.
Marriages: There are records of proclamations and marriages 1734–1776, which is intermixed with entries of Mortcloth Dues and other matters. The records have been very much wasted by dampness and want of care, and several of the leaves are entirely destroyed or lost. The records are blank 1776–1820, except for one entry in 1817, and one in 1819. There is not an entry for 1821.
Deaths: Mortcloth Dues are inserted in the volume containing the marriages. The entries are few in number.
Source: Key to the Parochial Registers of Scotland, by V. Ben Bloxham, pub. 1970. British Book 941 K23b.

Established Church—Kirk Session Records

The Kirk session was the court of the parish. The session was made up of the minister and the land owners and business men of the parish, chosen to serve on the session. The Kirk session dealt with moral issues, minor criminal cases, matters of the poor and education, matters of discipline, and the general concerns of the parish. Kirk session records may also mention births, marriages, and deaths.

Here is a list of the surviving Kirk session records for this parish:
Minutes 1777–1900
Accounts 1815–1855
Note: Available at the National Archives of Scotland, Edinburgh, record CH2/180.

Nonconformist Church Records

A nonconformist church is any church that is not the Established church. Read more about nonconformity in Scotland in the article on the Scotland Church Records Union List.

A Free Church, known as Strathdon and Glenbuchat, was not sanctioned until 1866, and there are no records.

Ballater, St Nathalan Roman Catholic Church




Available online for a fee, at , record MP/

Civil Registration Records

Government or civil registration of births, marriages, and deaths (also called statutory records) began on January 1, 1855 in Scotland. Each parish has a registrar's office and large cities have several. The records are created by the registrars and copies are sent to the General Register Office in Edinburgh. Annual indexes are then created for the records for the whole country.
See the article on Scotland Civil Registration for more information and to access the records.

Probate Records

Glenmuick was under the probate jurisdiction of the Commissary Court of Aberdeen until 1823, and since then has been under the Sheriff's Court of Aberdeen. Probate records for 1513- 1901 are indexed online at You must register on the website but use of the index to probate records, called 'Wills & Testaments,' is free. You may then purchase a copy of the document or, if the document is before 1823, it will be on microfilm at the Family History Library. To find the microfilm numbers, search in the library catalog for the 'Place-names' of Aberdeen and the subject of 'Probate records.' Then click on the link to the records of the Commissariat of Aberdeen.

The library also has some post-1823 probate records for Aberdeen. Look in the library catalog for the 'Place' of Aberdeen and the subjects of 'Probate Records' and 'Probate Records - Indexes.'

Read more about Scotland Probate Records.


  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Scotland (1846), pp. 499-514. Adapted. Date accessed: 12 June 2014.

Return to Aberdeenshire parish list.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 26 June 2015, at 23:52.
  • This page has been accessed 2,627 times.