Glossop, Derbyshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Glossop, Derbyshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to Glossop, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Glossop, Derbyshire
Glossop All Saints Derbyshire.jpg
Glossop All Saints Derbyshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred High Peake
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Glossop PLU
Registration District Chapel en le Frith; Hayfield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1620; Separate registers exist for Glossop St James beginning 1846
Bishop's Transcripts: 1664
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Castleton
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

GLOSSOP (All Saints), a market-town, a parish, and the head of a union (though a portion of the parish is in the union of Hayfield), in the hundred of High Peak, N. division of the county of Derby. This parish comprises the chapelries of Chinley with Bugsworth and Brownside, Hayfield, and Mellor; the townships of Chisworth, Chunall, Dinting, Glossop, Hadfield, Ludworth, Newmills, Padfield, Simmondley, and Whitfield; and the hamlets of Beard, Charlesworth, Ollersett, Thornsett, and Whittle. The Derwent, also, has its source at the north extremity, where for some distance it is called the Wrongsley river, and separates the parish and county from Yorkshire, after which, entering the chapelry of Derwent, it takes that name. There are places of worship for Independents, Wesleyans, Roman Catholics, and other congregations of dissenters. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Glossop parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
Glossop All Saints (1845) Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's NONE
  NONE
1837-1894
  NONE
NONE
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Glossop All Saints previously included the townships of Whitfield, Derbyshire Chunal Dinting Hadfield and part of Padfield Charlesworth, Derbyshire Chisworth and Simmondley. The remainder of Padfield became part of the parish of Hadfield in 1875 Hayfield, Derbyshire was formed out of this parish as was Mellor, Derbyshire

The registers contain gaps in 17th and 18th centuries

Derbyshire Record Office reference D2448 has deposited registers Bap 1620-1669,1697-2000 Mar 1620-1984 Burials 1620-1667, 1673-1778, 1781-1938 Banns 1754-1778, 1815-1823, 1854-1998.

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Society of Friends/Quaker
  • Wesleyan Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist Reform

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241290.


Poor Law Unions

Glossop Poor Law Union,Derbyshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Glossop on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England,(1848), pp. 298-301. Date accessed: 22 April 2013.

Ayers, Barbarann (25 Sep 2007). "Topographical and Historical Account of Derbyshire (Magna Britannia Vol. 5) Glossop - by Daniel and Samuel Lysons, 1817". GENUKI. pp. 165, 166, 167, 168, 169. http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/DBY/Glossop/Lysons.html.

See also

Hanmer, J., Winterbottom, D. (1993), The Book Of Glossop, 2nd edition, Baron Birch/Quotes. ISBN 0-86023-484-3

Davies, Peggy (December 1999). Annals of Glossop. Glossop, Derbyshire: Glossop Heritage Centre. pp. 5, 6.

Index of Probate Documents of the Ancient Parish of Glossop by Lee, Clarke & McKenna (Derbyshire FHS, ISBN 0947 964 26 6)

Pevsner, Nikolaus. 1986. The Buildings of England:Derbyshire. pp 319-320. Harmondsworth, Middx. Penguin. ISBN 0-14-071008-6. Page 219.

Pevsner, N.; Williamson, E. 1986, The Buildings of England:Derbyshire, 2nd. ed., Penguin, Middlesex. pp 218-219.
Parochial Church Council (N.D.), A Guide To The Parish Church Of All Saints, Glossop., British Publishing Company, Gloucester. pp 5-17.
Quayle, Tom (2006). The Cotton Industry in Longdendale and Glossopdale. Stroud,Gloucestershire: Tempus. pp. 126. ISBN 0 7524 3883 2.


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 20:46.
  • This page has been accessed 2,854 times.