Glynn County, Georgia GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Glynn County, Georgia)

United States Gotoarrow.png Georgia Gotoarrow.png Glynn County

Guide to Glynn County, Georgia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


Glynn County, Georgia
Map of Georgia highlighting Glynn County
Location in the state of Georgia
Founded February 5, 1777
County Seat Brunswick
Address Glynn County Courthouse
701 H Street
Brunswick, GA 31520-6750
Phone: 912.554.7272
Glynn County Website


County Courthouse

Glynn County Courthouse
701 H Street
Brunswick, GA 31520-6750
Phone: 912.554.7272

Probate Court has marriage records from 1845 and probate records from 1792. Clerk Superior
Court has divorce and court records from 1792 and land records 1824-1829 burned, all records to 1818 damaged.[1]

Clerk of Superior Court
701 H. Street
P.O. Box 1355 (31521)
Brunswick, GA 31520
Telephone: (912) 554-7272
Fax: (912) 267-5625

Probate Court of Glynn County
701 G Street
Brunswick, GA 31520
Telephone: 912-554-7231

Beginning Dates for Glynn County, Georgia Genealogy Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate




Parent County

1777--Glynn County was created 5 February 1777 from St. David and St. Patrick Parishes.
County seat: Brunswick [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

1896 -- On 29 September 1896 a hurricane swept through and badly damaged property in Glynn County, but the courthouse records survived with only minimal water damage.[3]


Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Brantley County  • Camden County  • McIntosh County  • Wayne County

Glynn CountyMcIntosh CountyLong CountyWayne CountyAppling CountyPierce CountyBrantley CountyWare CountyCharlton CountyCamden CountyGAGlynn.JPG

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Wightman, Orin Sage. Early Days of Coast Georgia ; story by Margaret Davis Cate. - St Simons Island (Glynn County) Georgia. ; Fort Frederica Association, [1955]. 235 p. F286.W6

Bible Records



Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.

The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Brunswick

Christ Church of Frederica, St. Simons Island

  • 1873-1910 - Christ Church of Frederica, St. Simons Island Baptism Index 1873-1910. Batch C712931 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1884-1941 - Christ Church of Frederica, St. Simons Island Marriage Index 1884-1941. Batch M712931 at FamilySearch - free.[4]



Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Glynn County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

  • Cate, Margaret Davis. Our Today's and Yesterdays: A Story of Brunswick and the Coastal Islands. Brunswick, Ga.: Glover Bros., 1930. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • Flags of Five Nations: Being a Collection of Historical Sketches, Legends and Stories of the Golden Isles of Guale. Sea Island, Ga.: Cloister Hotel, 1940. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • Jekyl [sic] Island Club, Brunswick, Georgia, 1911. New York: Photogravure & Color Co., 1911?. Digital version at Ancestry ($).


Blythe Island


Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Glynn County, Georgia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Glynn County, Georgia Genealogy:

- 11th Battalion, Georgia Infantry (State Guards) (Confederate) , Company H
- 26th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies A, B and K
- 47th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company H
- Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project

  • Cate, Margaret Davis. 1979. Our todays and yesterdays: a story of Brunswick and the coastal islands. Spartanburg, South Carolina: Reprint Company Publishers. (page 167-196; 218-234)  975.8 H2cm



Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Glynn County, Georgia Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate Records

Online Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

  • 1856-1866 - Wills, Book E, 1856-1866 (digital images) Georgia Pioneers $
  • 1809-1845 - Original Wills and Loose Estates 1809-1845 (digital images) Georgia Pioneers $
  • 1809-1843 - Index to Wills and Appraisements 1809-1843 Georgia Pioneers $
  • 1842-1849 - Index to Wills and Appraisements 1842-1849 Georgia Pioneers $
  • 1810-1843 - Index to Wills, Inventories, Appraisements,Book D, 1810-1843 Georgia Pioneers $
  • 1844-1853 - Index to Wills, Inventories, Appraisements, Book D, 1844-1853 Georgia Pioneers $


Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia. See also How to order Georgia Vital Records

Marriage Records
  • 1818-1895 - Glynn County Marriage Index 1818-1895. Batch M712921 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Death Records
  • 1849-50, 1869-70 - Glynn County, Georgia Genealogy Mortality Schedules at Ancestry ($).
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Jekyll Island Historic Center 375 Riverview Dr. Jekyll Island, Georgia, 31527-0851



  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Glynn County, Georgia. Page 155 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 32. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  4. 4.0 4.1 4.2 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 14 November 2015, at 00:46.
  • This page has been accessed 12,289 times.