Goathill, Somerset GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Goathill, Dorset)

England Gotoarrow.png Somerset Gotoarrow.png Somerset Parishes Gotoarrow.png Dorset Gotoarrow.png Dorset Parishes

Guide to Goathill, Somerset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Goathill, Somerset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Horethorne
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Sherborne
Registration District Sherborne
Records begin
Parish registers: 1699
Bishop's Transcripts: 1607
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Merston
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Wells
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office


Parish History

GOATHILL (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Sherborne, hundred of Horethorne, E. division of Somerset, 2¼ miles (E.) from Sherborne.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Goathill, Somerset Genealogy Parish Register Images and Indexes
1690-1819 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[2]
1820-1839 Ancestry[3]

Goathill, Somerset Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free[4]
Goathill, Somerset Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images

Goathill's early parish registers are stored at the Dorset History Centre.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474598.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Tax records

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites



  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 301-312. Adapted. Date accessed: 19 December 2012.
  2. Dorset, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Partially indexed.
  3. Dorset, England, Marriages and Banns, 1813-1921, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Partially indexed.
  4. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Somerset, England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 21 October 2013.
  5. E 179 Database, The National Archives, http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/e179/, accessed 8 August 2013.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 May 2015, at 21:38.
  • This page has been accessed 2,853 times.