Goltho, Lincolnshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Goltho, Lincolnshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.pngLincolnshire Parishes

Guide to Goltho, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Goltho, Lincolnshire
Goltho St George Lincolnshire.jpg
Goltho St George Lincolnshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wraggoe
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Lincoln PLU
Registration District Lincoln
Records begin
Parish registers: 1672
Bishop's Transcripts: 1638
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Wraggoe
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Goltho was an Ancient Parish and Bullington, Lincolnshire was formed as a chapelry within the parish.

The nave was built about 1530 adjacent to now demolished Goltho Hall under the patronage of the owners. It underwent further addition about 1600 and restoration in subsequent centuries.

By the twentieth century it had become a small mortuary chapel due to its isolation and was declared redundant by the dioces of Lincoln in November 1976.

St George's Church, Goltho, is a redundant Anglican church in the former village of Goltho, Lincolnshire, England. It has been designated by English Heritage as a Grade II* listed building, and is under the care of the Churches Conservation Trust. The church is situated in a field surrounded by a clump of trees, and can be approached only by footpaths.

GOLTHO, a parish, in the W. division of the wapentake of Wraggoe, parts of Lindsey, union and county of Lincoln, 1½ mile (W. by S.) from Wragby. There is a chapel of ease at Bullington. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

this parish was in the North East sub district of Lincoln registration district

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives, St Rumbold Street,Lincoln,Lincolnshire,LN2 5AB,England Enquiries: lincolnshire.archives@lincolnshire.gov.uk The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images  via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Goltho Par 1 will identify available images.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Goltho

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438764.


See Lincolnshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Lincoln Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/LIN/Goltho/

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 312-315. Date accessed: 21 August 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 1 May 2015, at 04:41.
  • This page has been accessed 1,869 times.