Good Easter, Essex GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Good Easter, Essex)

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.png Essex Parishes

Guide to Good Easter, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Good Easter, Essex
St Andrew, Good Easter Essex.jpg
St Andrew, Good Easter Essex.
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Dunmow
County Essex
Poor Law Union Chelmsford PLU
Registration District Chelmsford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1539
Bishop's Transcripts: 1814
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Roding
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of Good Easter
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Good Easter, is also known as Easter (Good), it is a parish in Chelmsford district, Essex; on an affluent of the Chelmer, it is 4 3/4 miles W by S of Great Waltham, and 6 1/4 miles W by S of Great Waltham, and 6 1/4 miles NW of Chelmsford railway station.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Good Easter, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[2]
FSPRs = England, Essex Parish Registers, 1503-1997 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
Good Easter, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
ESSEX 1538-1941 1538-1957 1538-1918
FSPRs Undefined Undefined Undefined
Non-Conformist Churches

None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241367.


Poor Law Unions

Chelmsford Poor Law Union, Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

Good Easter on GENUKI

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870. Adapted: date accessed: 21 May 2013.
  2. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 23 September 2014.
  3. 'England, Essex Parish Registers (FamilySearch Historical Records),' FamilySearch, accessed 2 September 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 8 April 2015, at 14:22.
  • This page has been accessed 3,329 times.