Grüningen parish, Zürich, Switzerland GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwitzerland Gotoarrow.pngZürich Gotoarrow.png Grüningen parish

Guide to Grüningen parish, Zurich, Switzerland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Contents

Geography

History

Place Names

Locations within Grüningen

Adletshausen
Ammentännli
Bächelsrüti
Bahnhofquartier
Binzikon
Brücke
Brunnacker
Buchholz
Büchlen
Bühl
Friedhof
Frohbühl
Galgenacker
Gass

Gerbe
Grüningen
Heispel
Hinter-Brugglen
Hinter-Heggen
Hinterholz
Hinterer Lindist
Holzhausen
Itzikon
Langmatt
Lindist
Mattenhof
Mühle
Näsplen

Neuweid
Niggenberg
Oberhof
Oberzelg
Platte
Rebacker
Reippen
Richttanne
Riedtli
Roggensbühl
Rohracker
Scheueracker
Schloss
Schooren

Sonnenhof
Spielhalde
Tannsberg
Tobelacker
Töbeli
Trottacker
Unterzelg
Vorder-Brugglen
Vorder-Heggen
Webereiquartier
Wiesental
Wilhaus
Zelgli

Surrounding Parishes

Bubikon
Egg
Gossau
Hombrechtikon
Oetwil am See

Collections

Church Records

Census Records

(see here for article describing the Zürich census records)

The following censuses are available for Grüningen:

Census Year FHL Film number item number beginning page
1633 1185140 1 701
1634 1185139 3 139
1637 1185142 1 123
1640 1185144 2 343
1643 1185146 2 387
1646 1185148 1 691
1657 1185179 1 63
1663 1185179 2 361
1670 1185154 1 679
1678 1185157 2 91
1684 1185159 2 425
1689 1185163 2 1
1700 1185166 2 441
1709 1185170 1 329
1722 1185175 2 37
1739 1185175 2 73

Genealogies

(see here for article describing Swiss compiled genealogies)

The following genealogies have been researched for Grüningen families:

Civil Registration

Civil registration began in 1876. Grüningen belongs to the Wetzikon civil registration district. Records are only available in Switzerland. For further information, contact the civil registry office at:

Zivilstandsamt Wetzikon
Bahnhofstrasse 167
CH-8622 Wetzikon

Tel: +41 44 931 32 00

email: zivilstandswesen@wetzikon.ch

Surnames

The following surnames held citizenship in Grüningen prior to 1875:

Altorfer
Bauert
Baumann
Biedermann
Bodmer
Bosshard
Brunner
Dürsteler
Egli
Ehrismann
Graf
Grimm
Guggenbühl
Guhl
Gujer

Guyer
Hermatschweiler
Heusser
Hofmann
Homberger
Hotz
Kägi
Keller
Krauer
Kriesi
Kündig
Kunz
Müller
Näf
Oetiker

Pfister
Reicherter (1844, from
    Germany)
Rüegg
Schärer
Scheuchzer
Schmid
Schmid (1820, from
    Illnau)
Schulthess
Schumacher
Schwilch
Spitzer
Stocker
Süri

Suter
Vontobel
Walder
Walder (1828, from
    Oetwil am See)
Weber
Weber (1826, from
    Wetzikon)
Wiederkehr
Wild
Wildermuth
Wolfensberger
Zellweger
Zollinger

Related Sources

The town's website (in German) can be found here.

Societies and Libraries

Cantonal Archive of Zürich

References

Register of Swiss Surnames

Historical Gazetteer of Switzerland


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 16 February 2015, at 19:15.
  • This page has been accessed 404 times.