Grange de Lings, Lincolnshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Grange de Lings, Lincolnshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.pngLincolnshire Parishes

Guide to Grange de Lings, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Grange de Lings, Lincolnshire
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Lawress
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Lincoln
Registration District Lincoln
Records begin
Parish registers: For records see Riseholme
Bishop's Transcripts: For records see Riseholme
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Grange de Lings is an extra parochial area and a civil parish in West Lindsey in north west Lincolnshire.

The parish of Riseholme, Lincolnshire has ecclesiastical care of the area in the modern diocese of Lincoln. This parish is to the south of the Grange de Lings and is Riseholme with Grange de Lings.

This area also contains the remaining runways of the former World War II RAF Dunholme Lodge which was base to 120 Lancaster bombers lost in the period 1942-1945. The station closed in 1964.

Grange de Lings, par., in co. and dist. of Lincoln. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Riseholme, Lincolnshire St Mary registers commence in 1851Search Riseholme Lincs to the past

Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives, St Rumbold Street,Lincoln,Lincolnshire,LN2 5AB,England Enquiries: lincolnshire.archives@lincolnshire.gov.uk The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue Grange de Lings

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438767.


See Lincolnshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Lincoln Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. 1887, John Bartholomew's Gazetteer of the British Isles. Date accessed: 21 August 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 January 2016, at 04:52.
  • This page has been accessed 1,145 times.