Grant County, New Mexico GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Grant County, New Mexico ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.
|Grant County, New Mexico|
Location of New Mexico in the U.S.
|Founded||January 30, 1868|
|County Seat||Silver City|
|Address|| Grant County Courthouse|
201 N Cooper St
PO Box 898
Silver City, NM 88062
Phone:. 505.538.2979 Grant County Website
Grant County Courthouse
201 N Cooper St; PO Box 898;
Silver City, NM 88062
County Clerk has marriage records from 1872, probate records from 1884, land records from 1871, and newspapers from 1900; District Court Clerk has divorce Records; Municipal Court has court records.
- Up until 1821 - New Spain controlled land that later would become New Mexico and Arizona. Some records of early settlers may have been sent to an archives in Seville, Spain, or to archives in Mexico City.
- From 1821 until 1846 - Mexico had jurisdiction over the land that later would become New Mexico and Arizona. Some records of this period may have been sent to archives in Mexico City. Starting in 1846 United States forces occupied New Mexico during the Mexican-American War.
- 1848 - Part of the land that became Grant County formally became a part of the United States when the Mexican-American War ended with ratification of the Treaty of Guadalupe Hidalgo.
- 1855 - The Gadsden Purchase of Mexican land was added to Doña Ana County, New Mexico, part of which later became the southern part of Grant County.
For animated maps illustrating New Mexico County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation New Mexico County Boundary Maps" (1845-1981) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
- New Mexico Cemetery Records
- AHGP New Mexico Cemetery Transcription & Photo Project
- New Mexico Cemetery Records, Luna to Valencia
- New Mexico Cemetery Record Information Online
- New Mexico Tombstone Transcription Project
- New Mexico Cemeteries Project
- New Mexico Vital Record Information: Cemeteries
- Online New Mexico Death Records and Indexes
- Cemeteries of New Mexico
- BillionGraves.com - Provides photos and GPS locations of grave markers.
- Cyndi's List - Cemeteries & funeral homes
For tips on accessing Grant County, New Mexico Genealogy census records online, see: New Mexico Census.
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about New Mexico denominations, view the New Mexico Church Records wiki page. LDS Ward and Branch Records
- Silver City
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See New Mexico Land and Property for additional information about early New Mexico land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Local histories are available for Grant County, New Mexico Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section New Mexico Local Histories.
- New Mexico Online Historical Newspapers - identifies historical archived and digitized newspapers available online on both free and pay-to-access websites.
Finding More New Mexico Newspapers
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Grant County, New Mexico Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
Online Probate Records
Since statehood in 1912, probate matters have been under the jurisdiction of probate courts in each county. Records of guardianship and adoption have usually been transferred to the district courts. In 1953 the district courts were given concurrent jurisdiction with the probate court over all probate matters in each county.
See the wiki page New Mexico Probate Records for information about how to find earlier probate records.
The Family History Library does not have copies of the New Mexico county probate records. They are available at each county courthouse. You can obtain copies by contacting the county clerk.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, and adoption.
New Mexico tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the Wiki page New Mexico Taxation.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the Wiki page, New Mexico Vital Records, for additional information about the vital records in New Mexico.
Marriage records - are at the County Clerk's office
Divorce records - are at the office of the County Clerk of Court
Birth and death records - are at the New Mexico Vital Records and Health Statistics Office which has records since 1920 and delayed records since 1880.
For a comprehensive death index of over 75,000 death records for Grant County, visit Carl W. Scholl Grant County New Mexico Death and Cemetery Records. Sources used to create this index include cemeteries, church records, death certificates (state and local copies), funeral home records, mining records, mortuary records, obituaries, and voter purge records.
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See [[Introduction to LDS Family History Centers|Family History Center] for more information. Search the [https://familysearch.org/ask/help#localResource online FHC director for a nearby family history center.
- Silver City New Mexico Family History Center 3755 N Swan St Silver City NM 88061-6042 United States Location Map
- Grant County, NM History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- New Mexico Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- New Mexico Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- FamilySearch Catalog
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Grant County, New Mexico page 473, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
|This New Mexico-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it.
While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List.
- This page was last modified on 6 October 2015, at 20:07.
- This page has been accessed 8,199 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News