Grayson County, KentuckyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Kentucky  Gotoarrow.png  Grayson County

Guide to Grayson County Kentucky genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records. Located in the Western Coal Fields region.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Kentucky
Online Records


Grayson County, Kentucky
Map
Map of Kentucky highlighting Grayson County
Location in the state of Kentucky
Map of the U.S. highlighting Kentucky
Location of Kentucky in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 25, 1810
County Seat Leitchfield
Courthouse
Adopt-a-wiki page
Kylogosm.gif This page adopted by:
KYGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
and its representative
Grayson Co. KYGenWeb
Adopt a page today

Contents

Grayson County Kentucky Courthouse

Beginning Dates for Grayson County, Kentucky Government Records
Birth* Marriage* Death* Census Deeds Wills
1852 1852 1852 1810 1896 1856
*Many years between 1852 and 1911 are missing
Grayson County, Kentucky Courthouse.PNG
 Grayson County Courthouse
10 Public Square
Leitchfield, KY 42754
Phone: 270.259.5295[1]

Grayson County Kentucky History

Parent County

1810--Grayson County was created 25 January 1810 from Hardin and Ohio Counties.
County seat: Leitchfield [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Kentucky county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Kentucky County Boundary Maps" (1776-1939) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

1864, 1896--Disasters destroyed some records. For a list of record loss in Kentucky counties see: Kentucky Counties with Burned Courthouses


Grayson County Kentucky Places/Localities

Populated Places

Anneta Hickory Corner Millerstown Shrewsbury
Big Clifty Higdon Millwood Skaggstown
Black Rock Hilltop Moutardier Smithview
Broad Ford Hites Falls Pearman Snap
Caneyville Horntown Peonia South
Clarkson Huffman Peth Spike
Concord Iberia Pine Knob Spring Lick
Conoloway Indian Valley Pine Springs Steff
Do Stop Johnson Crossroads Ponderosa Tar Hill
Duff Jugville Post Tousey
Dug Hill Lacon Ready Wax
Eveleigh Leitchfield Rock Creek West Clifty
Falling Branch Lilac Royal Wheelers Mill
Fentress McMahan Linwood Sadler Windyville
Fragrant Linwood Park Saint Paul Yeaman
Grayson Springs Lone Oak Short Creek
Hanging Rock Meredith

Neighboring Counties

Grayson County Kentucky Genealogy Resources

Kygrayson.png

African Americans

The following have information concerning African American research.  Both should be used:

Biographies

Cemeteries

Kentucky cemetery records often identify birth, death, relationship, and military information, as well as religious affiliation.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.
18204,055
18303,880−4.3%
18404,46115.0%
18506,83753.3%
18607,98216.7%
187011,58045.1%
188015,78436.3%
189018,68818.4%
190019,8786.4%
191019,9580.4%
192019,927−0.2%
193017,055−14.4%
194017,5623.0%
195017,063−2.8%
196015,834−7.2%
197016,4453.9%
198020,85426.8%
199021,0500.9%
200024,05314.3%
http://ukcc.uky.edu/~census/21085.txt

For tips on accessing Grayson County, Kentucky census records online, see: Kentucky Census.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Kentucky denominations, view the Kentucky Church Records wiki page.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kentucky Land and Property for additional information about early Kentucky land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Grayson County, Kentucky. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Kentucky Local Histories.

Maps

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Grayson County, Kentucky served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Grayson County, Kentucky:

- 40th Regiment, Kentucky Infantry (Union), Companies C, D, E, G, H, I and K.

Miscellaneous

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Grayson County, Kentucky newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Probate

Probate records are held by the Grayson County, Kentucky Clerk of Court and are housed at the Grayson County, Kentucky Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Kentucky, Probate Records, 1792-1977. See the wiki page Kentucky Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more background information and state-wide resources see the wiki page Kentucky Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Although Kentucky enacted a statute in 1852-1862 requiring registration of births and deaths,many counties did not comply. A second law was written in 1874-1879, and 1892-1910 but, again, was not always followed. By 1911, the law was more clearly defined and kept by 1920. Any existing births 1852-1960 and death records 1852-1953 can be accessed online. See How to Find Kentucky Birth Records and How to Find Kentucky Death Records for links to indexes and images.

Original marriage records are held at the office of the Grayson County, Kentucky Clerk, with divorce records 1849-1958 located with the Grayson County, Kentucky Circuit Court. For more information see How to Find Kentucky Marriage Records. For Kentucky divorce records see the wiki page Kentucky Vital Records.

Birth
  • 1852-1861 - Grayson County Birth Index 1852-1861. Batch C517401 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1874 - Grayson County Birth Index 1874. Batch C517402 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1875 - Grayson County Birth Index 1875. Batch C517403 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Marriage
  • 1852-1861 - Grayson County Marriage Index 1852-1861. Batch M517401 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1875 - Grayson County Marriage Index 1875. Batch M517404 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1876-1878 - Grayson County Marriage Index 1876-1878. Batch M517405 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Unsorted

Grayson County Kentucky Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Grayson County Kentucky Genealogy Websites

Grayson County Kentucky Genealogy References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Grayson County, Kentucky page 270, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 3.4 3.5 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/0b/Igikentuckygl.pdf.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 March 2014, at 21:35.
  • This page has been accessed 10,451 times.