Grayson County, Virginia GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Grayson County, Virginia ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, immigration records, and military records.
|Grayson County, Virginia|
Location in the state of Virginia
Location of Virginia in the U.S.
Grayson County Virginia Courthouse
Grayson County Courthouse
P.O. Box 130
129 Davis Street
Independence, Virginia 24348-0130
Clerk Circuit Court has marriage, divorce, probate, court
and land records from 1793
Grayson County Virginia History
For animated maps illustrating Virginia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
- Lost censuses: 1800, 1810, 1890
For a list of record loss in Virginia counties see: Virginia Counties with Burned Courthouses
Grayson County Virginia Places/Localities
Grayson County Virginia Genealogy Resources
- "A Guide to the Counties of Virginia: Grayson County," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 11, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1967):157-159. Available at FHL; digital version at American Ancestors ($).
- Freedmen's Bureau Letters or Correspondence, 1865-1872
- Grayson County, Virginia Slaveholders 1800-1860 (New River Notes) - free.
- Heinegg, Paul. "Grayson County Personal Property Tax List, 1805-1818," Free African Americans.com. [Heinegg abstracted free blacks listed in these records.]
Images of the Virginia Historical Society's family Bible collection have been digitized:
- Virginia Historical Society Papers, 1607-2007 - browse collection at FamilySearch; free.
Additional Bible records include:
- Tombstone Transcription Project Grayson County - cemetery transcriptions and photos - USGenWeb
For tips on accessing Grayson County, Virginia Genealogy census records online, see: Virginia Census.
1800 - Lost, but a substitute is available, see Taxation.
1810 - Lost, but a substitute is available, see Taxation.
- Douthat, James L. 1840 Mountain Empire of Virginia Census. Signal Mountain, Tenn.: Mountain Press, 2001. FHL Collection 975.5 X2d 1840. Free online surname index and purchase details at Mountain Press website. [Includes Grayson County.]
1890 Union Veterans
- Turner, Ronald Ray. Virginia's Union Veterans: Eleventh Census of the United States 1890. Available online, courtesy: Prince William County Virginia website. [Includes residents of this county.]
Early Baptist churches (with years constituted):
- Cedar Island or Fox Creek (1782)
- Meadow Creek (1797). A list of new members (1840) was published in Glimpses of Grayson, Vol. 7, No. 3 (Dec. 1985).
- N. Fork of New River (1796)
Grayson County fell within the bounds of the Holston and Mountain Associations.
Early monthly meetings (with years of existence):
- Chestnut Creek Monthly Meeting (1785-1841)
- Fruit Hill Monthly Meeting (1790-1814)
- Mount Pleasant Monthly Meeting (1790-1825, 1980s)
More than 25 genealogies have been published about Grayson County families. To view a list, visit Grayson County, Virginia Compiled Genealogies.
During the War of 1812, American officials reported finding a total of 1 British alien living in Grayson County.
Land and Property
- Kegley, Mary B. Revolutionary War Pension Applications of Southwest Virginia Soldiers. n.p.: M.B. Kegley, 1997. Available at FHL. [Includes Grayson County pensioners.]
- A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital versions at U.S. Census Bureau and Google Books et. al. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. [See Virginia, Western District, Grayson County on page 134.]
- Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." FHL Book 973 M24ur; digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes veterans from this county; Virginia section begins on page 238.]
War of 1812
Grayson County men served in the 78th Regiment.
- List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. [See Vol. 5, Virginia, Grayson County, p. 82. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.]
Regiments. Service men in Grayson County, Virginia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Grayson County, Virginia Genealogy:
- - 4th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company F (Grayson Dare Devils).
- - 4th Regiment, Virginia State Line (Cavalry and Infantry) (Confederate). Companies B and D.
- - 8th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company C (Grayson Cavalry)
- - 22nd Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Bowen's Virginia Mounted Riflemen) (Confederate). Company G.
- - 37th Battalion, Virginia Cavalry (Dunn's Battalion, Partisan Rangers) (Confederate). Company D and Company I.
- - 45th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company C (Grayson Rifles).
- - 50th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company D (Wilson Rifles) (Grayson Hornets).
- - 51st Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Companies A and D.
- - 63rd Regiment, Virginia Infantry (McMahon's) (Confederate). Companies C and G.
Records and histories are available, including:
- Virginia, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers 1861-1865
- Virginia, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers 1861-1865
- Virginia Naturalization Petitions, 1906-1929
The Virginia Newspapers Project identifies local Grayson County, Virginia Genealogy newspapers.
Professor Tom Costa and The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia have created a database of all runaway advertisements for slaves, indentured servants, transported convicts, and ship deserters listed in the Virginia Gazette and other Virginia newspapers (1736-1803), see: The Geography of Slavery in Virginia.
A free index to Grayson County, Virginia Genealogy wills and administrations (1796-1800) is available at the Library of Virginia website.
- 1793-1849 - Grayson County, Virginia Wills 1793-1849 (New River Notes) - free.
- Tax Laws, Local, Glimpses of Grayson, Vol. 9, Nos. 1-2 (Jun. 1988).
-  Grayson County, Virginia Tax List - 1794 (New River Notes) - free.
-  1794 Grayson County, Virginia Personal Property Tax List (New River Notes) - free.
-  The 1796 Grayson County, Virginia Land Tax List (New River Notes) - free.
-  The 1799 Grayson County, Virginia Land Tax List (New River Notes) - free.
-  The 1800 Grayson County, Virginia Tax List (New River Notes) - free.
-  "Grayson County, Virginia, 1800 Tax List," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 25, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1981):204-210. Available at FHL; digital version at New England Ancestors ($).
-  The 1805 Grayson County, Virginia Land Tax List (New River Notes) - free.
-  The 1805 Grayson County, Virginia Personal Property Tax List (New River Notes) - free.
- [1805-1818] Heinegg, Paul. "Grayson County Personal Property Tax List, 1805-1818," Free African Americans.com. [Heinegg abstracted free blacks listed in these records.]
-  The 1810 Grayson County, Virginia Tax List (New River Notes) - free.
-  Schreiner-Yates, Netti. A Supplement to the 1810 Census of Virginia: Tax Lists of the Counties for which the Census is Missing. Springfield, Va.: Genealogical Books in Print, 1971. Available at FHL. [The source for this publication is the 1810 personal property tax list. Grayson County is included because the 1810 Census for that county has been destroyed.]
-  Tax List, 1810, Southwest Virginian, Vol. 5, No. 27 (Dec. 1982).
-  Tax List, 1810, Southwest Virginia Ancestors, Vol. 9, No. 1 (Spring 1995); Vol. 9, No. 2 (Summer 1995).
-  The 1813 Grayson County, Virginia Personal Property Tax Lists (New River Notes) - free.
-  Ward, Roger D. 1815 Directory of Virginia Landowners (and Gazetteer). 6 vols. Athens, Georgia: Iberian Pub. Co., 1997-2000. Available at FHL. [The source for this publication is the 1815 land tax. Grayson County is included in Vol. 5.]
-  Kegley, Mary B. Southwest Virginia Tax Assessments, 1815: Grayson, Lee, Scott, Russell, Washington, and Wythe Counties. Wytheville, Va.: Kegley Books, 1991. Original edition and 1992 supplement available at FHL. [The source for this publication is a private collection of 1815 tax assessment tickets for the First District of Virginia. The tickets includes landowners' names, number of acres or lots, number of buildings along with descriptions, and number of slaves. N.B. These are not the 1815 land tax books.]
-  The 1817 Grayson County, Virginia Personal Property Tax List (New River Notes) - free.
-  The 1824 Grayson County, Virginia Personal Property Tax List (New River Notes) - free.
-  The 1825 Grayson County, Virginia Personal Property Tax List (New River Notes) - free.
-  The 1828 Grayson County, Virginia Personal Property Tax List (New River Notes) - free.
-  The 1835 Grayson County Virginia Personal Property Tax List (New River Notes) - free.
-  The 1863 Grayson County, Virginia Land Tax List (New River Notes) - free.
-  The 1890 Grayson County, Virginia Land Tax List (New River Notes) - free.
Indexes to Grayson County, Virginia Genealogy births, marriages, and deaths are available online. These collections are incomplete, but are easy to search. Most records can also be ordered electronically online as well. Courtesy: FamilySearch - free. See also How to order Virginia Vital Records
- 1853-1879, 1884-1888 - Grayson County, Virginia Birth Records 1853-1879, 1884-1888 (New River Notes) - free.
- 1660-1800 - Virginia Marriages 1660-1800 (Ancestry) ($).
- 1740-1850 - Virginia Marriages 1740-1850 (Ancestry) ($).
- 1793-1836 - Grayson County, Virginia Marriages 1796-1836 (New River Notes) - free.
- 1853-1931 - Grayson County, VA Marriages 1853-1931 (New River Notes) - free.
- 1853-1896 - Grayson County, Virginia Death Register 1853-1870 and Records 1870-1896 (New River Notes) - free.
Vital Record Substitutes
|For birth, marriage, and death record substitutes, see Bible Records, Cemeteries, Church Records, Newspapers, and Probate Records.|
Grayson County Virginia Genealogy Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See [[Introduction to LDS Family History Centers|Family History Center] for more information. Search the [https://familysearch.org/ask/help#localResource online FHC director for a nearby family history center.
Grayson County Virginia Genealogy Websites
- Grayson Co., VAGenWeb. Part of the USGenWeb Project. Maps, name indexes, history.
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Grayson County, VA History, Records, Facts and Genealogy (Familytree101)
- RootsWeb Mailing List: SW_VA-L (Topic: Southwest Virginia)
- Cyndi's List
Grayson County Virginia Genealogy References
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Grayson County, Virginia. Page 714 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ 2.0 2.1 2.2 Robert Baylor Semple and George William Beale, A History of the Rise and Progress of the Baptists in Virginia (Pitt and Dickinson, 1894), 358-359. Digital version at Google Books.
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 3.2 Jay Worrall, The Friendly Virginians: America's First Quakers (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Publishing Company, 1994), 537-539. FHL Book 975.5 K2wj.
- ↑ Kenneth Scott, British Aliens in the United States During the War of 1812 (Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1979), 320-333. FHL Book 973 W4s; digital version at Ancestry ($).
- ↑ Stuart Lee Butler, A Guide to Virginia Militia Units in the War of 1812 (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1988), 95. FHL Book 975.5 M2bs.
- ↑ James I. Robertson, 4th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.F. Howard, 1982). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 1.
- ↑ The Virginia State Line: Organizational Structure of the Virginia State Line, Ranger95.com, accessed 11 June 2012.
- ↑ Jack L. Dickinson, 8th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1986). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 25.
- ↑ J.L. Scott, 36th and 37th Battalions Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1986). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 24.
- ↑ J.L. Scott, 45th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1989). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 58.
- ↑ John C. Chapla, 50th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1997). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 129.
- ↑ James A. Davis, 51st Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1984). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 9.
- ↑ Jeffrey C. Weaver, 63rd Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1991). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 76.
- ↑ 14.0 14.1 14.2 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/3/37/Igivirginia.pdf.
- This page was last modified on 5 June 2015, at 02:24.
- This page has been accessed 74,352 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News