Great Abington, Cambridgeshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Great Abington, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Great Abington, Cambridgeshire|
|Poor Law Union||Linton PLU|
|Parish registers: 1664|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1599|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Ely (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Cambridgeshire Record Office|
ABINGTON, GREAT (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Linton, hundred of Chilford, county of Cambridge, 2¼ miles (N. W.) from Linton.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Parish registers for Great Abington, 1664-1877 at FHL
Bishop's transcripts for Great Abington, 1599-1851 at FHL
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241223.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Great Abington on GENUKI
- This page was last modified on 10 May 2015, at 22:27.
- This page has been accessed 1,433 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More