Great Bedwyn, Wiltshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Great Bedwyn, Wiltshire)

England Gotoarrow.png WiltshireGotoarrow.png Wiltshire Parishes

Guide to Great Bedwyn, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Great Bedwyn, Wiltshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Kinwardstone
County Wiltshire
Poor Law Union Hungerford PLU
Registration District Hungerford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1585
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Marlborough
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1829 - Court of the Peculiar of the Lord Warden of Savernake Forest; Post-1827 - Court of the Peculiar of the Dean of Salisbury
Location of Archive
Wiltshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BEDWIN, GREAT (St. Mary), an incorporated market-town and a parish, in the union of Hungerford, hundred of Kinwardstone, Marlborough and Ramsbury, and S. divisions of Wilts, 5½ miles (S. W. by W.) from Hungerford, 23 (N.) from Salisbury, and 70½ (W. by S.) from London. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Great Bedwyn, Wiltshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.[4]
Great Bedwyn, Wiltshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1612-1660, 1841-1906
1754-1906

IGI 1600s 1754-1895
NIM
1539-1837

Savernake Forest Christ Church chapelry registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Savernake Forest Christ Church Chapelry Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1861-1885


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464198.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 194-199. Date accessed: 16 September 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 10 January 2014.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Wiltshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 15 January 2014.
  4. 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 22:46.
  • This page has been accessed 2,059 times.