Great Brand End Plot, Lincolnshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.pngLincolnshire Parishes

Guide to Great Brand End Plot, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Great Brand End Plot, Lincolnshire
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Kirton
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Boston PLU
Registration District Boston
Records begin
Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes
Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

An extra-parochial place.  Became a civil parish in 1858 and abolished in 1891 when it was transferred to Swineshead.[1][2]

Brand End Plot, Great, par., in Boston dist., S. Lincolnshire, 25 ac., pop. 4. [3]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

This is an extra parochial area Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Brand End Plot, Great

Census records

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites


  1. Youngs, Frederic A. Guide to the Local Administrative Units of England, Vol. 2; Northern England. Offices of Royal Historical Society, London: 1991.
  2. Wilcox, Anthony. National Index of Parish Registers, Vol. 6, Pt. 4. Society of Genealogist, London: 1995.
  3. 1887, John Bartholomew's Gazetteer of the British Isles Date accessed: 21 August 2013.

References

  1. Youngs, Frederic A. Guide to the Local Administrative Units of England, Vol. 2; Northern England. Offices of Royal Historical Society, London: 1991.
  2. Wilcox, Anthony. National Index of Parish Registers, Vol. 6, Pt. 4. Society of Genealogist, London: 1995.
  3. 1887, John Bartholomew's Gazetteer of the British Isles Date accessed: 21 August 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 1 May 2015, at 04:54.
  • This page has been accessed 1,655 times.