Great BritainEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Great Britain, or simply Britain, is an island situated to the north-west of continental Europe. Europe Gotoarrow.png British IslesGotoarrow.png England

Guide to England ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

News and Events

More news items... More events...


Key Topics to get Started:

Other Topics:

Genealogy courses: Learn how to research from an expert in England courses.

Find us on

Ask a question
Learn what's new
Build the community
Flag of England.png
England is a one of the four constituent countries of the United Kingdom (together with Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland). It has a history that goes back over a thousand years. In 1707, the Kingdom of England joined the Kingdom of Scotland in union to become the Kingdom of Great Britain.

The name Britain comes from the Latin name for the island, Britannia, meaning "the land of the Britons", the Celtic tribes who inhabited the island at that time.

Geographically, Great Britain is divided into three countries: England, Scotland and Wales.

Country Population (2011)
England 53.0 million
Scotland 5.3 million
Wales 3.1 million

Politically, Great Britain and Northern Ireland form the United Kingdom or, in full, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland.

The term British Isles often includes the Isle of Man, which is not part of the United Kingdom, but is a British Crown Dependency.

The Channel Islands, of Guernsey and Jersey, off the northern coast of France cannot be described as part of the British Isles. They also are not part of the United Kingdom and are British Crown Dependencies.


For genealogy purposes see:


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 August 2015, at 15:35.
  • This page has been accessed 2,433 times.