Great Bromley, EssexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Essex Gotoarrow.png  Essex Parishes Gotoarrow.png  Great Bromley

St. George Great Bromley Essex.jpg

Contents

Parish History

Great Bromley or Bromley (Great), is a village and a parish in Tendring district, Essex. The village stands 3 miles SSE of Ardleigh railway station, and 5 1/2 miles E of Colchester.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Great Bromley, Essex Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1559
1559
1725
Images 1559-1848 EssexAncestors[2] 1559-1839 EssexAncestors[2] 1725-1870 EssexAncestors[2]
Indexes 1800-1812 FreeREG[3] 1559-1753 FindMyPast[4]

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection

Online images are available Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office for both St George Anglican church and for Burnt Heath Methodist church.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241376.


Poor Law Unions

Tendring Poor Law Union, Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Wilson, John M., Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870) Adapted: date accessed: 21 May 2013.
  2. 2.0 2.1 2.2 Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 16 April 2012.
  3. Essex Coverage in FreeReg, FreeREG, accessed 19 April 2012.
  4. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, (WayBack Machine) accessed 3 March 2012.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 April 2014, at 03:29.
  • This page has been accessed 1,680 times.