Great Catworth, Huntingdonshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  HuntingdonshireGotoarrow.png  Huntingdonshire Parishes
Great Catworth, Huntingdonshire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Leightonstone
County Huntingdonshire
Poor Law Union St Neots PLU
Registration District St Neots
Records begin
Parish registers: 1698; For more records see Stow Longa
Bishop's Transcripts: 1604
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Leightonstone
Diocese Pre-1837 - Lincoln; Post-1836 - Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1839 - Court of the Peculiar of the Prebend of Stow Longa; Post-1838 - Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of Lincoln and of the Archdeacon in the Archdeaconry of Huntingdon
Location of Archive
Huntingdonshire Record Office

Guide to Great Catworth, Huntingdonshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

Catworth, Great (St. Leonard), is a parish, in the union of St. Neot's, the hundred of Leightonstone, and county of Huntingdon, 4 miles N W from Kimbolton. The Baptists and Wesleyans have places of worship.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Great Catworth, Huntingdonshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

HUNT = Huntingdonshire Burials (findmypast) - (£)[2]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
Great Catworth, Huntingdonshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
HUNT

1604-1837
NBI

1604-1837

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288839.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Huntingdonshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Great Catworth on GENUKI

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales 1870-2. Date accessed: 15 August 2013.
  2. 'Huntingdonshire Burials,' findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 26 April 2014.
  3. 'National Burial Index - Huntingdonshire Coverage,' findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 17 April 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 June 2015, at 14:59.
  • This page has been accessed 1,512 times.