Great Dunmow, Essex GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Great Dunmow, Essex)

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.png Essex Parishes

Guide to Great Dunmow, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Great Dunmow, Essex
St Mary the Vrigin Great Dunmow Essex.jpg
St Mary the Vrigin Great Dunmow Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Dunmow
County Essex
Poor Law Union Dunmow PLU
Registration District Dunmow
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1629; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Dunmow
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Middlesex (Essex and Hertfordshire Division)
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Great Dunmow or Dunmow (Great), is a small town and a parish in Dunmow district, Essex. DUNMOW (Great), The town stands on an eminence on the right bank of the river Chelmer, adjacent to the Bishop-Stortford and Braintree railway, at the Junction of the Ongar line, 8½ miles W of Braintree. A church, three dissenting chapels, a Roman Catholic chapel.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Great Dunmow, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[2]
FSPRs = England, Essex Parish Registers, 1503-1997 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
Great Dunmow, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
ESSEX
1538-1964
1558-1957
1558-1989
FSPRs Undefined
Undefined
Undefined
Non-Conformist Churches
  • Baptist
  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Roman Catholic
  • Society of Friends/Quaker

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241367.


1851 Census returns for both Great and Little Dunmow are missing.

Poor Law Union

Dunmow Poor Law Union,Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

Great Dunmow on GENUKI

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870. Adapted: date accessed 21 May 2013.
  2. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 23 September 2014.
  3. 'England, Essex Parish Registers (FamilySearch Historical Records),' FamilySearch, accessed 2 September 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 June 2015, at 15:23.
  • This page has been accessed 5,781 times.