Great Glen , LeicestershireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  LeicestershireGotoarrow.png  Leicestershire Parishes

St Cuthbert Great Glen Leicestershire.jpg

Contents

Parish History

GLEN MAGNA (St. Cuthbert), a parish, in the union of Billesdon, hundred of Gartree, S. division of the county of Leicester, 6 miles (S. E.) from Leicester. [1]

In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson's Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Great Glen like this:

GLENN MAGNA, Glen Magna, or Great Glenn, a village, a township, and a parish in Billesdon district, Leicestershire. There is a Wesleyan chapel, and a chapel of ease.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Great Glen , Leicestershire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PC = Parish Chest - (£). Registers delivered by email.[2]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[3]
GREAT GLEN PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PC 1687-1898
1571-1909
1687-1910
PRTS
1572-1837

Deposited records are found at the Leicester and Rutland Record Office

Contact: The Record Office
Telephone: 0116 2571080
Fax: 0116 2571120
E-mail: recordoffice@leics.gov.uk

Diocese of Leicester: Great Glen Bap 1687 - 1962 Marr 1687 – 1984 (Banns to 1946) Bur 1687 - 1921


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438742.

Poor Law Unions

Billesdon Poor Law Union, Leicestershire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 298-301. Date accessed: 07 September 2012.
  2. 'Leicestershire Parish Registers', Parish Chest, accessed 27 January 2014.
  3. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 27 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:51.
  • This page has been accessed 830 times.