Great Horkesley, Essex GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Great Horkesley, Essex)

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.png Essex Parishes 

Guide to Great Horkesley, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Great Horkesley, Essex
All Saints Great Horkesley, Essex .jpg
All Saints Great Horkesley, Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Lexden (Colchester)
County Essex
Poor Law Union Lexden and Winstree PLU
Registration District Lexden
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1639; 1737; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Dedham
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Colchester
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Great Horkesley most often known as Great Horksley or Horksley (Great), is a village and a parish in Lexden district, Essex. The village stands near the river Stour and the boundary with Suffolk, it is 1 1/4 miles SW of Nayland, and 4 miles NW of Colchester railway station. There is a Wesleyan chapel.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Great Horkesley, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[3]
FAMR =

FamilyRelatives - (£)[4]

Great Horkesley, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI

1790-1836


ESSEX
1558-1895
1558-1836
1558-1882
FAMR

1558-1836


Non-Conformist Churches
  • Society of Friends/Quaker
  • Wesleyan

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241372.


Poor Law Unions

Lexden and Winstree Poor Law Union, Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Great Horkesley on GENUKI

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870. Adapted: date accessed 21 May 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
  3. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 23 September 2014.
  4. 'Essex Parish registers collection 1538 on Familyrelatives.com,' Family Relatives, accessed 12 March 2012. Derived from Phillimore Marriage Indexes.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 June 2015, at 15:29.
  • This page has been accessed 4,322 times.