Great Longstone, Derbyshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Great Longstone, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Great Longstone, Derbyshire|
Great Longstone St Giles Derbyshire
|Poor Law Union||Bakewell|
|Parish registers: 1637|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1666|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of Lichfield|
|Location of Archive|
|Derbyshire Record Office|
LONGSTONE, GREAT, a chapelry, in the parish and union of Bakewell, hundred of High Peak, N. division of the county of Derby, 3 miles (N. N. W.) from Bakewell. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Great Longstone parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|Great Longstone St Giles (1637) Parish Online Records|
|FS PR's|| NONE
Derbyshire Record Office reference D 2373 has deposited registers Bap 1637-1690, 1694-1792, 1765-1955 Mar 1637-1690, 1694-1739, 1755-1812, 1817-2004 Burials 1637-1690,1694-1742, 1765-1992 banns 1868-1926
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Non Conformist Churches
- Wesleyan Methodist
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241289.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Great Longstone on GENUKI
- This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 20:45.
- This page has been accessed 2,265 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News