Great Malvern, WorcestershireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Worcestershire Gotoarrow.png Worcestershire Parishes

Great Malvern, Worcestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Pershore
County Worcestershire
Poor Law Union Upton upon Severn PLU
Registration District Upton on Severn
Records begin
Parish records: 1556
Bishop's Transcripts: 1612
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Powyke
Diocese Worcester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Worcester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Worcestershire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

MALVERN, or Great Malvern (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Upton-upon-Severn, Lower division of the hundred of Pershore, Upton and W. divisions of the county of Worcester, 8 miles (W.)from Worcester. The Countess of Huntingdon's Connexion have a place of worship.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection

Census records

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Worcestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:53.
  • This page has been accessed 475 times.