Great Paxton, HuntingdonshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  HuntingdonshireGotoarrow.png  Huntingdonshire Parishes

Great Paxton, Huntingdonshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Toseland
County Huntingdonshire
Poor Law Union St Neots PLU
Registration District St Neots
Records begin
Parish registers: 1583
Bishop's Transcripts: 1604
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery St Neots
Diocese Pre-1837 - Lincoln; Post-1836 - Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of Lincoln and of the Archdeacon in the Archdeaconry of Huntingdon
Location of Archive
Huntingdonshire Record Office

Guide to Great Paxton, Huntingdonshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

Paxton (Great), is a parish, with a village, in St. Neots district, Huntingdonshire, 2 miles S S W of Offord railway station, and 3 miles N N E of St. Neots. There is a Wesleyan chapel.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Great Paxton, Huntingdonshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
HUNT = Huntingdonshire Burials (FindMyPast) - (£)[4]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[5]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[6]
Great Paxton, Huntingdonshire Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1583-1807, 1813-1877
1583-1883

FREG 1583-1807, 1813-1875
1583-1875
1583-1807
HUNT

1583-1900
IGI 1583-1876
NBI

1583-1900

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288839.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Huntingdonshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales 1870-2 Date accessed and adapted 15 August 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 18 April 2014.
  3. 'Huntingdonshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 17 April 2014.
  4. 'Huntingdonshire Burials,' FindMyPast (WayBack Machine), accessed 26 April 2014.
  5. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Huntingdon, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 21 April 2014.
  6. 'National Burial Index - Huntingdonshire Coverage,' FindMyPast (WayBack Machine), accessed 17 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 June 2014, at 22:03.
  • This page has been accessed 877 times.