Great Ponton, Lincolnshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Great Ponton, Lincolnshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.pngLincolnshire Parishes

Guide to Great Ponton, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Great Ponton, Lincolnshire
Holy+Cross Great+Ponton Lincolnshire.jpg
Holy+Cross Great+Ponton Lincolnshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Grantham Borough
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Grantham
Registration District Grantham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1622
Bishop's Transcripts: 1561
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Grantham
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office


Parish History

Great Ponton Holy Cross is an Ancient Parish.

PONTON, GREAT (Holy Cross), a parish, in the union of Grantham, wapentake of Winnibriggs and Threo, parts of Kesteven, county of Lincoln, 4 miles (S.) from Grantham. [1]

In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Great Ponton like this:

PONTON (Great), a parish in Grantham district, Lincoln; on Ermine-street, the river Witham, and the Great Northern railway, 3½ miles S of Grantham. It is supposed, by some, to be the Ad Pontem of the Romans; it has yielded many Roman coins, pavements, bricks, urns, and other relics; and it has a station on the railway, and a post-office under Grantham. Acres, 2, 930. Real property, £3, 696. Pop. in 1851, 680; in 1861, 561. Houses, 107. The manor and most of the land belong to the Earl of Dysart. The living is a rectory in the diocese of Lincoln. Value, about £800. Patron, the Bishop of Lincoln. The church was built in 1519; and is a handsome edifice, with a pinnacled tower. There are a Wesleyan chapel, and an endowed school with about £90 a year.

The village is 3 miles South of Grantham and the A1(formerly known as the Great North Road) passes close by the village centre and church of Holy Cross which has a tower built in 1519 by Anthony Ellys. Charles Hoole was the vicar from 1642-6. The church is in the Colsterworth Group of churches, which includes Little Ponton, Lincolnshire.

Neighbouring villageses include Stoke Rochford,  Stroxton, Lincolnshire and Little Ponton, Lincolnshire. To the east is the River Witham and the East Coast Main Line.


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives,

St Rumbold Street

Enquiries: The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue.

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images  via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Great Ponton Par 1 will identify available images.

Search FamilySearch Catalogue Ponton, Great

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438758.

See Lincolnshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Grantham Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 586-593. Date accessed: 21 August 2013.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 1 May 2015, at 04:58.
  • This page has been accessed 4,297 times.