Great Sampford, Essex GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Great Sampford, Essex)

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.pngEssex Parishes 

Guide to Great Sampford, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Great Sampford, Essex
St Michael, Great Sampford, Essex .jpg
St Michael, Great Sampford, Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Freshwell
County Essex
Poor Law Union Saffron Walden PLU
Registration District Saffron Walden
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1629; 1802
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Sampford
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (Essex and Hertfordshire Division)
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Great Sampford or Sampford (Great), is a village and a parish in Saffron Walden district, Essex. The village stands on the river Pant, it is 3 3/4 miles NE by N of Thaxted, and 5 3/4 miles SW of Birdbrook railway station. There is a Baptist chapel.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online images are available Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office

Great Sampford, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FSPRs = England, Essex Parish Registers, 1503-1997 (FamilySearch) - free[2]
Great Sampford, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FSPRs Undefined
Undefined
Undefined
Non-Conformist Churches

Baptist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241368.


Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

Great Sampford on GENUKI

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870. Adapted: date accessed: 21 May 2013.
  2. 'England, Essex Parish Registers (FamilySearch Historical Records),' FamilySearch, accessed 2 September 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 8 April 2015, at 18:56.
  • This page has been accessed 2,591 times.