Great Steeping, Lincolnshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Great Steeping, Lincolnshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.pngLincolnshire Parishes

Guide to Great Steeping, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Great Steeping, Lincolnshire
Great Steeping All Saints Lincolnshire.jpg
Great Steeping All Saints Lincolnshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Candleshoe
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Spilsby
Registration District Spilsby
Records begin
Parish registers: 1712
Bishop's Transcripts: 1562
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Candleshoe
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office


Parish History

Great Steeping All Saints is an Ancient Parish; There are two churches dedicated to All Saints, one being redundant and now known as Old All Saints.

Old All Saints was built in 1748 on the site of a medieval church, and was restored in 1908. The diocese of Lincoln declared it redundant in August 1973 and it is a Grade II* listed building. In the grounds is the socket stone of a medieval churchyard cross which is an ancient scheduled monument.

Great Steeping Old All Saints Lincolnshire.jpg

All Saints was built in 1891 after a design by William Bassett-Smith of red brick. It is Grade II listed, and also has a listed churchyard cross.

A Baptist Church was built in the hamlet of Monksthorpe.

The Wesleyan Methodist chapel dates from 1868 and has a wall plaque with this date.

STEEPING, GREAT (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Spilsby, Wold division of the wapentake of Candleshoe, parts of Lindsey, county of Lincoln, 3 miles (E. S. E.) from Spilsby. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. [1]
Great Steeping Wesleyan Methodist Chapel Lincolnshire.jpg

Great Steeping was also the home of RAF Spilsby, which originally was to be on the site of Gunby Park. However after an appeal by Field Marshall Sir Archibald Montgomery-Massingberd of Gunby Hall to the King, the RAF Steeping airfield was built as RAF Spilsby. It opened in September 1943, and in 1944 RAF Spilsby, RAF Strubby, and RAF East Kirkby joined to become the newly formed 55 Base with headquarters at East Kirkby. In September 1944 RAF Spilsby became a two Lancaster squadron station, home of 207 Squadron and 44 Squadron. No 2 Armament Practice School took over from 1945 until November 1946, after which the station was placed on care and maintenance until 1955. It re-opened to host ground units of the USAF who moved out in 1958.


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives,

St Rumbold Street

Enquiries: The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue.

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images  via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Great Steeping Par 1 will identify available images.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Steeping, Great

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438768.

See Lincolnshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Spilsby Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 198-200. Date accessed: 21 August 2013.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 1 May 2015, at 04:59.
  • This page has been accessed 2,716 times.