Great Wakering, Essex GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Great Wakering, Essex)

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.png Essex Parishes 

Guide to Great Wakering, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Great Wakering, Essex
Great Wakering, St Nicholas Essex .jpg
Great Wakering, St Nicholas Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Rochford
County Essex
Poor Law Union Rochford PLU
Registration District Rochford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1685
Bishop's Transcripts: 1639; 1806
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Canewdon
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Essex
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Great Wakering or Wakering (Great), is a village, a parish, and a sub district, in Rochford district, Essex. The village stands near the coast, 4 1/4 miles E by N of Southend railway station. The parish includes Rusley and Great Potton islands.  There are Independent and Wesleyan chapels.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Great Wakering, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[2]
Great Wakering, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
ESSEX
1685-1956
1685-1957
1685-1945
Non-Conformist Churches

Independent/Congregational

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241375.


Poor Law Unions

Rochford Poor Law Union, Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

Great Wakering on GENUKI

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870. Adapted: date accessed 21 May 2013.
  2. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 5 September 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 June 2015, at 15:32.
  • This page has been accessed 2,383 times.