Great and Little Horningsheath, Suffolk GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk   Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk Parishes
Great and Little Horningsheath, Suffolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Thingoe
County Suffolk
Poor Law Union Thingoe PLU
Registration District Thingoe
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1571
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Thingoe
Diocese Pre-1837 - Norwich; Post-1836 - Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Sudbury
Location of Archive
Suffolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HORNINGSHEATH, GREAT and LITTLE (St. Leonard), ancient parishes, in the union and hundred of Thingoe, W. division of Suffolk, 2 miles (S. W. by W.) from Bury St. Edmund's[1]

HORNINGSHEATH, or HORRINGER, a village and a parish in Thingoe district, Suffolk. The village stands 2 miles SW of Bury-ST. Edmunds r. station. [2]

Refer to the works listed in Suffolk Gazetteers or England Gazetteers for source material.

Resources

If you live in Suffolk you will have access to a variety of resources at local archives and libraries.  For those who live further afield, one can access microfilm and online records at LDS Family History Centres.  Refer to the parish and Suffolk in the FamilySearch Catalogue for available records.

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Great and Little Horningsheath, Suffolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

1813 = Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) (findmypast) - (£)[3]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[4]
FREG = FreeREG - free[5]
FSBOOK = FamilySearch Books - free
IARC = Internet Archive - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[6]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[7]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[8]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[9]
Great and Little Horningsheath, Suffolk Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
1813 1813-1837
BOYD
1559-1850

FREG 1559-1850
1559-1850
1559-1850
FSBOOK 1558-1850
1558-1850
1558-1850
IARC 1558-1850 1558-1850 1558-1850
IGI 1558-1850 1558-1850
JOIN
1559-1837

NBI

1750-1901
TGEN 1558-1850
1559-1850
1558-1850
  • Parish Registers began in the 1500's. They can be viewed at the Suffolk Record Office. There are Bishop Transcripts and Parish Registers that have been filmed for most parishes in the County. See the Suffolk Church Records article for further details.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474644.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Suffolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 550-553. Adapted. Date accessed: 4 April 2014.
  2. 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales. Date accessed: 30 September 2013.
  3. 'Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 9 December 2013.
  4. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  5. 'Suffolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 3 December 2013.
  6. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Suffolk, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 10 December 2013.
  7. 'Suffolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 3 December 2013.
  8. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 4 December 2013.
  9. 'Parish Records,' TheGenealogist, accessed 26 April 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 May 2015, at 22:20.
  • This page has been accessed 2,432 times.