Greece GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Greece ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.
Getting started with Greece research
FamilySearch Wiki is a community website dedicated to helping people throughout the world learn how to find their ancestors. Through the Greece page you can learn how to find, use, and analyze Greek records of genealogical value. The content is variously targeted to beginners, intermediate, and expert researchers. The Greece Page is a work in progress, your contributions and feedback are essential!
(Your text or images here)Isle of Tinos, Greece
- HellenicGenealogyGeek blog: hellenicgenealogygeek.blogspot.com/ Greek genealogy resources; online databases, many links to assist in research, Greek surnames, Free antiquarian books on modern Greek history and much more. Use the search box to find items of interest.
- Hellenic Genealogy Resources Facebook group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/101120679980726/. Post questions for assistance.
- Spartan Roots Blog : Focuses on research in Lakonia, Peloponnese.
- Greek Genealogy – Family History This site leads to a list of Counties (NOMOS) which the Family History Library has Microfilms for. Not all NOMOS have been filmed and all records are in Greek or Turkish. Go to "Microfilmed Records" and click on "Microfilm List". It also refers to reference books available at the Library. For information on how to do research in Greece, sources in Greece etc. click on "Instructions for Family History Research"
- Greek Genealogy Home Page
- Greece Mailing List
- Cyndislist.com: http://www.cyndislist.com/greece
- D'Addezio Greek Genealogy Resources
- Dimitri's Greek Heritage Page: http://www.dimitri.8m.com/greek.html
- GenWeb Greece: http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~grcwgw/
- Beginning a Greek Genealogical Search in the US: http://www.helleniccomserve.com/genealbegingrk2.html#Check%20Orthodox%20Parish%20Records
- Greek Obituaries: http://greekobituary.com/
- American Hellenic Educational Progressive Association (AHEPA): http://ahepa.org
- Foundation of the Hellenic World: http://www.fhw.gr/fhw/en/projects/geneal
- Lakonia: http://www.papagiannakos.com/lakonia
Digital Library of Modern Greek Studies, Anemi (Greek Almanac of 1837): http://anemi.lib.uoc.gr/
- Athens - Ethniki Bibliothiki - Newspapers: http://www.nlg.gr/digitalnewspapers/ns/main.html
- Library of the Hellenic Parliament: http://catalog.parliament.gr/#focus
- Library of Chios: http://www.koraeslibrary.gr/frontoffice/portal.asp?cpage=NODE&cnode=1
- Vikelaia Municipal Library, Heraklion: http://vikelaia-epapers.heraklion.gr
- Aristotle University of Thessaloniki: http://digital.lib.auth.gr/
- The Press Museum, Patra: http://www.mouseiotipou.gr/arxeion-xml/pages/esiepi/internet/intro
- Heraldic & Genealogical Society of Greece: http://www.idtg.org/archive/1791-the-heraldic-genealogical-society-of-greece/
- Greek Archive Film Foundation: http://www.tainiothiki.gr/v2/index/index/
- Hellenic Communication Service: http://www.helleniccomserve.com/genealogy.html
- My Parea: http://www.facebook.com/myparea
- Kythera-Family.net: http://kythera-family.net/
- Foundation of the Hellenic World: http://www.fhw.gr/fhw/index.php?lg=2
- Bournias family of Chios: www.bournias.net/
- Public Record DIGITIZED greek records: http://arxeiomnimon.gak.gr
Family History Research in Greece. Catsakis, Lica Hariclea. Salt Lake City, Utah: 2003. (purchase from author's website, www.greekgenealogy.org)
Greek Gazetteer, 3 volumes. Catsakis, Lica Hariclea. Salt Lake City, Utah: 1997. (purchase from author's website, www.greekgenealogy.org)
Greek Immigrant Passengers 1885-1910, A Guide to and Index to Researching Early Greek Immigrants. Three Volumes. Voultsos, Mary. 1992: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA. (FHL Book 973 W2vm). First volume includes an indexed list of Greek passengers to New York 1885-1910, and to Boston 1900-1910 listed alphabetically. Second volume is arranged by date of arrival, and third volume is arranged by destination. This list is not complete as it refers only to certain vessels.
Greek Immigration to the United States. Fairchild, Henry Pratt. 1911: Yale University Press; 278 pages. Excellent book - free on Google books.
The Greek Americans. Monos, Dimitris. Chelsea House Publishers, 1988. (Part of series, The Peoples of North America).
A Guide to Greek Traditions and Customs in America. Rouvelas, Marilyn. Attica Press, P.O. Box 34008, Bethesda, MD 20827, 1993. [An excellent resource for general information.]
When I Was a Boy In Greece, Demetrios, George and Huybers, John Alfred . Boston: Lothrop, Leed and Shepard Co., 1913. E-book, found on Google Books: books.google.com/ebooks/app#reader/unLPAAAAMAAJ/GBS.PP1
The Greeks in America, Xenides, J.P. New York: George H. Doran Co., 1922. Ebook, found on Google Books: books.google.com/ebooks/app#reader/Am12AAAAMAAJ/GBS.PP1
When Greece became an independent state, communities began keeping registers of males (Mitroon Arrenon), which list all the males born in a particular community. They were kept for voting and military purposes. Male registers were created for all communities in Greece. As new areas became part of Greece, their communities also began keeping male registers. In some areas male registers were reconstructed from other records back to 1825.
Did you know?
- Most people leaving Greece in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries went to the United States, Egypt, Australia, South America, or South Africa. By 1910, an estimated one quarter to one fifth of the total labor force of Greece had left.
- This page was last modified on 13 August 2015, at 13:43.
- This page has been accessed 31,089 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News