Green Lake County, Wisconsin GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Green Lake County, Wisconsin)

Guide to Green Lake County Wisconsin ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States Gotoarrow.png Wisconsin Gotoarrow.png Green Lake County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Wisconsin
Online Records



Green Lake County, Wisconsin
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Wisconsin
Location of Wisconsin in the U.S.
Facts
Founded March 5, 1858
County Seat Green Lake
Courthouse
Address Green Lake County Courthouse
PO Box 3188
Green Lake, WI 54941
Phone. 920.294.4005
WI Green Lake.png

Contents

County Courthouse

Green Lake County Courthouse
PO Box 3188
Green Lake, WI 54941
Phone. 920.294.4005

Register of Deeds has birth and death records
from 1876, marriage and land records from 1852
and military discharge records from 1945;
Clerk Court has divorce and court records;
Register in Probate has probate records[1]


Historical Facts

Parent County

1858--Green Lake was created 5 March 1858 from Marquette County.  County seat: Green Lake [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Wisconsin Counties see: Wisconsin Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Columbia  • Dodge  • Fond du Lac  • Marquette  • Waushara  • Winnebago

WI GREEN LAKE.JPG

Resources

Bible Records

Biography

Cemeteries

Census

Church History and Records

Court Records

Crime and Criminals

Directories

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Germans

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Land and Property

Maps

Migration

Military History and Records

Civil War

Civil War service men from Green Lake County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are many companies or regiments that were formed from men of Green Lake County.

- 3rd Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Company C
- 11th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company I
- 13th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company G with men from Spring Grove found in Green County and Green Lake County

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate Records

Repositories

See also a List of Wisconsin Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Archives, Libraries and Museums
County Courthouse
Family History Centers
  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Centers for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Societies

Taxation

Vital Records

Birth Records
Marriage Records
Divorce Records
Death Records

Voting Registers

Web Sites

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. page 757 Green Lake County, Wisconsin (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 13 April 2015, at 21:16.
  • This page has been accessed 6,780 times.