Greensville County, Virginia GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Greensville County, Virginia ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, immigration records, and military records.
|Greensville County, Virginia|
Location in the state of Virginia
Location of Virginia in the U.S.
Greensville County Virginia Courthouse
Greensville County Courthouse
P.O. Box 631
337 South Main Street
Emporia, VA 23847-0631
Clerk Circuit Court has marriage, land and probate records from 1781
divorce and court records from 1900
Greensville County Virginia History
The county is believed to have been named after English explorer Sir Richard Grenville (1542-1591).
For animated maps illustrating Virginia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
- Lost censuses: 1790, 1800, 1890
For a list of record loss in Virginia counties see: Virginia Counties with Burned Courthouses
Greensville County, Virginia Places/Localities
Greensville County Virginia Genealogy Resources
- Dorman, John Frederick. "A Guide to the Counties of Virginia: Greensville County," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 12, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1968):107-108. FHL; digital version at American Ancestors ($).
Freedmen's Bureau Letters or Correspondence, 1865-1872
- Heinegg, Paul. "Greensville County Personal Property Tax List, 1782-1830," Free African Americans.com. [Heinegg abstracted free blacks listed in these records.]
Images of the Virginia Historical Society's family Bible collection have been digitized:
- Virginia Historical Society Papers, 1607-2007 - browse collection at FamilySearch; free.
Additional Bible records include:
- Brown, Douglas Summers. Historical and Biographical Sketches of Greensville County, Virginia, 1650-1967. Emporia, Va.: The Riparian Woman's Club, 1968. FHL Book 975.5572 H2h.
For tips on accessing Greensville County, Virginia Genealogy census records online, see: Virginia Census.
- Greensville County Heads of Families - 1783 at U.S. Census Bureau - free. County begins on page 54.
1890 Union Veterans
- Turner, Ronald Ray. Virginia's Union Veterans: Eleventh Census of the United States 1890. Available online, courtesy: Prince William County Virginia website. [Includes residents of this county.]
Early Baptist churches (with years constituted):
Greensville County fell within the bounds of the Meherrin Association.
Church of England
- Goodwyn, Dora Hedges. "Notes from the Records of Greensville County," The William and Mary Quarterly, Vol. 22, No. 1 (Jul., 1913):31-38. FHL; digital version at JSTOR ($). [Partial abstracts of Greensville County Court Order Book 1.]
- Goodwyn, W. Samuel. "Officers Recommended and Qualified for the Militia of Greensville County, Virginia, 1782-1815,"
The William and Mary Quarterly, Vol. 27, No. 2 (Oct., 1918):96-103; Vol. 27, No. 3 (Jan., 1919):176-184 . FHL; digital version at JSTOR ($). [Abstracted from Greensville County Court Order Books.]
More than a dozen genealogies have been published about Greensville County families. To view a list, visit Greensville County, Virginia Compiled Genealogies.
- Ljungstedt, Milnor. "Items from Southern Records" [Showing Family and Trade Connections with Northern Colonies and the Home Countries], The American Genealogist, Vol. 15 (1938):95-104. Digital version at American Ancestors. [Greensville Co., VA surname: Harris.]
Land and Property
Grants and Patents
Land patents (pre-1779), land grants (after 1779) and surveys are available online at the Library of Virginia website. For step-by-step instructions on retrieving these records, read the Virginia Land and Property article.
- Hudgins. 694 patents dated 1715-1800 in what is now Greensville County, Virginia placed on a map. DeedMapper, 2000. [Names of those who received land patents, dates, land descriptions, and references may be viewed free of charge (click "Index" next to the county listing); however, in order to view the maps, it is necessary to purchase Direct Line Software's DeedMapper product.]
- Brown, Douglas Summers, Virginia Lee Baker, Eleanor Little Eanes, and L. Ralph Slagle eds. Historical and Biographical Sketches of Greensville County, Virginia, 1650-1967. Emporia, Va.: The Riparian Woman's Club, 1968. Free Lookups Available! Reviewed by Herbert C. Bradsham in The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 77, No. 4 (Oct., 1969):506-507. Review available at FHL; digital version at JSTOR ($).
- Sketches of Greensville County, Virginia, Second Edition, 1968-2000. Free Lookups Available!
- Clay, Robert Y. "Some Delinquent Taxpayers 1787-1790," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 20, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1976):199-208. FHL; digital version at American Ancestors ($). [These records identify migrants who left the county and often their intended destinations. Greensville County's 1788 Delinquent List appears on pp. 127-128.]
- Elliott, Katherine B. Emigration to Other States from Southside Virginia. 2 vols. South Hill, Virginia: K.B. Elliott, 1966. Vol. 1 of original edition at FHL; 1983 reprints (both volumes) at FHL; 1990-1992 reprints (both volumes) also at FHL. [Includes individuals who migrated out of Greensville County to other parts of the country.]
- Douthat, James L. 1782 Greensville County, Virginia Property Valuation Impressed During Revolutionary War. Signal Mountain, Tenn.: Mountain Press, 2010. Free online surname index and purchase details at Mountain Press website.
- A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital version at Google Books. 1967 reprint: FHL Book 973 X2pc 1840. [See Virginia, Eastern District, Greensville County on page 130.]
- Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." FHL Book 973 M24ur; digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes veterans from this county; Virginia section begins on page 238.]
- Goodwyn, W. Samuel. "Officers Recommended and Qualified for the Militia of Greensville County, Virginia, 1782-1815," The William and Mary Quarterly, Vol. 27, No. 2 (Oct., 1918):96-103; Vol. 27, No. 3 (Jan., 1919):176-184 . FHL; digital version at JSTOR ($). [Abstracted from Greensville County Court Order Books.]
War of 1812
Greensville County men served in the 50th Regiment.
- Douthat, James L. Roster of War of 1812, Southside, Virginia. Signal Mountain, Tenn.: Mountain Press, 2007. Free online surname index and purchase details at Mountain Press website. FHL Book 975.5 M2djL. [Includes Greensville County.]
- List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Book 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. [See Vol. 5, Virginia, Greenville County [sic], p. 82. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.]
Regiments. Service men in Greensville County, Virginia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Greensville County, Virginia Genealogy:
- - 5th Battalion, Virginia Infantry (Wilson's)(Archer's)(Confederate).
- - 12th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company F (Huger Grays) and Company I (Meherrin Grays).
Records and histories are available, including:
- Virginia, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers 1861-1865
- Virginia, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers 1861-1865
Virginia Naturalization Petitions, 1906-1929
The Virginia Newspapers Project identifies local Greensville County, Virginia Genealogy newspapers.
Professor Tom Costa and The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia have created a database of all runaway advertisements for slaves, indentured servants, transported convicts, and ship deserters listed in the Virginia Gazette and other Virginia newspapers (1736-1803), see: The Geography of Slavery in Virginia.
Virginia, Historical Society Papers, 1607-2007
A free index to Greensville County, Virginia Genealogy wills and administrations (1781-1800) is available at the Library of Virginia website.
Digital Images of Greensville County Wills 1781 to 1816. See names of Testators. Virginia Pioneers
- [1782-1830] Heinegg, Paul. "Greensville County Personal Property Tax List, 1782-1830," Free African Americans.com. [Heinegg abstracted free blacks listed in these records.]
-  Schreiner-Yantis, Netti and Florene Speakman Love. The 1787 Census of Virginia: An Accounting of the Name of Every White Male Tithable Over 21 Years, the Number of White Males Between 16 & 21 Years, the Number of Slaves over 16 & Those Under 16 Years, Together with a Listing of Their Horses, Cattle & Carriages, and Also the Names of All Persons to Whom Ordinary Licenses and Physician's Licenses Were Issued. 3 vols. Springfield, Va.: Genealogical Books in Print, 1987. FHL. [The source of this publication is the 1787 personal property tax list. Greensville County is included in Vol. 1.]
-  Clay, Robert Y. "Some Delinquent Taxpayers 1787-1790," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 20, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1976):199-208. FHL; digital version at American Ancestors ($). [These records identify migrants who left the county and often their intended destinations. Greensville County's 1788 Delinquent List appears on pp. 127-128.]
- [1789, 1798] Indexed images of the 1789 and 1798 Personal Property Tax Lists of Greensville County, Virginia are available online, courtesy: Binns Genealogy.
-  Tax List, 1800, The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 26, No. 2 (Apr. 1982); Vol. 26, No. 3 (Jul. 1982). FHL.
-  Ward, Roger D. 1815 Directory of Virginia Landowners (and Gazetteer). 6 vols. Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1997-2000. FHL. [The source for this publication is the 1815 land tax. Greensville County is included in Vol. 2.]
Indexes to Greensville County, Virginia Genealogy births, marriages, and deaths are available online. These collections are incomplete, but are easy to search. Most records can also be ordered electronically online as well. Courtesy: FamilySearch - free. See also How to order Virginia Vital Records
- 1853-1896 - Greensville County Birth Index 1853-1896. Batch C868759 (broken link) at FamilySearch - free.
- 1660-1800 - Virginia Marriages 1660-1800 (Ancestry) ($).
- 1740-1850 - Virginia Marriages 1740-1850 (Ancestry) ($).
- 1781-1853 - Greensville County Marriage Index 1781-1853. Batch M868760 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1861-1876 - Greensville County Marriage Index 1861-1876. Batch M868756 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1876-1888 - Greensville County Marriage Index 1876-1888. Batch M868757 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1888-1897 - Greensville County Marriage Index 1888-1897. Batch M868758 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1897-1901 - Greensville County Marriage Index 1897-1901. Batch M868759 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1853-1896 - Greensville County Death Index 1853-1896. Batch B868759 (broken link) at FamilySearch - free.
Vital Record Substitutes
The Virginia Historical Society's Marriage and Obituary Index, 1736-1820 (newspaper abstracts) is available for free online. Images of the original index cards are browseable, arranged alphabetically by surname.
|For birth, marriage, and death record substitutes, see Bible Records, Cemeteries, Church Records, Newspapers, and Probate Records.|
Greensville County Virginia Genealogy Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Centers for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
Greensville County Virginia Genealogy Websites
- Greensville Co., VAGenWeb. Part of the USGenWeb Project. Maps, name indexes, history.
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Greensville County, VA History, Records, Facts and Genealogy (Familytree101)
- Cyndi's List
- Virginia Pioneers ($). This is a pay website, however, you can see names of testators (wills) for free.
Greensville County Virginia Genealogy References
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Greensville County, Virginia. Page 714 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... (Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883), Vol. 5, p. 82. FHL Book 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive.
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 Robert Baylor Semple and George William Beale, A History of the Rise and Progress of the Baptists in Virginia (Pitt and Dickinson, 1894), 287. Digital version at Google Books.
- ↑ Stuart Lee Butler, A Guide to Virginia Militia Units in the War of 1812 (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1988), 97. FHL Book 975.5 M2bs.
- ↑ William D. Henderson, 12th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1984). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 8.
- ↑ 6.0 6.1 6.2 6.3 6.4 6.5 6.6 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/3/37/Igivirginia.pdf.
- This page was last modified on 5 June 2015, at 02:26.
- This page has been accessed 41,695 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News