Greetwell, Lincolnshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Greetwell, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Greetwell All Saints Lincolnshire.
|Poor Law Union||Lincoln|
|Parish registers: 1755|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1599|
|Probate Court||Pre-1834 - Court of the Archdeaconry of Stow; Post-1833 - Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Lincolnshire Record Office|
Greetwell All Saints is an Ancient Parish just east of the centre of the City of Lincoln and adjacent parish of Lincoln St Peter in Eastgate, Lincolnshire. The extra parochial area of Lincoln Monks Liberty, Lincolnshire also adjoins.
The church was restored in 1855-1856.
GREETWELL (All Saints), a parish, in the wapentake of Lawress, parts of Lindsey, union and county of Lincoln, 2¼ miles (E.) from Lincoln. 
This parish is within the Lincoln Registration district Home sub-district.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives, St Rumbold Street,Lincoln,Lincolnshire,LN2 5AB,England Enquiries: firstname.lastname@example.org The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue
The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Greetwell Par 1 will identify available images.
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Greetwell
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438764.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- This page was last modified on 10 January 2016, at 04:54.
- This page has been accessed 2,195 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News