Greifensee parish, Zürich, Switzerland GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwitzerland Gotoarrow.pngZürich Gotoarrow.png Greifensee parish

Guide to Greifensee parish, Zurich, Switzerland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Contents

Geography

History

Place Names

Locations within Greifensee

Aeusserer Ring
Furren
Greifensee
Hof
Innerer Ring
Lochacker

Säge
Sandacker
Sandbühl
Schloss
Wildsberg

Surrounding Parishes

Fällanden
Maur
Schwerzenbach
Uster
Volketswil

Collections

Church Records

Census Records

(see here for article describing the Zürich census records)

The following censuses are available for Greifensee:

Census Year FHL Film number item number beginning page
1633 1185140 1 699
1634 1185139 3 163
1637 1185142 1 279
1643 1185146 2 29
1646 1185148 1 383
1649 1185148 1 651
1657 1185179 1 74
1670 1185154 2 1
1678 1185158 1 1
1682 1185159 2 139
1689 1185163 2 433
1695 1185167 1 885
1708 1185170 1 931
1721 1185178 1 1
1738 1185178 1 19

Genealogies

(see here for article describing Swiss compiled genealogies)

The following genealogies have been researched for Greifensee families:

Civil Registration

Civil registration began in 1876. Greifensee belongs to the Volketswil civil registration district. Records are only available in Switzerland. For further information, contact the civil registry office at:

Zivilstands- und Bestattungsamt Volketswil
Zentralstrasse 21
8604 Volketswil

Tel: +41 44 910 21 00

email: zivilstandsamt@volketswil.ch

Surnames

The following surnames held citizenship in Greifensee prior to 1875:

Braschler
Brauch (from Volketswil)
Burkhard
Denzler
Geistlich
Häberlin
Lorenz (1838)
Maag (from Hinwil)

Meier
Müller (1868, from Neerach)
Paulus (1846, from Germany)
Pfister
Sallenbach
Steinbuch (1869, from
    Germany)

Trachsler
Walder
Wettstein (1868, from
    Volketswil)
Wolfensperger
Wüst
Wunderli (1858, from Maur)

Related Sources

The town's website (in German) can be found here.

Societies and Libraries

Cantonal Archive of Zürich

References

Register of Swiss Surnames

Historical Gazetteer of Switzerland


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 May 2015, at 19:46.
  • This page has been accessed 412 times.