Greystead, NorthumberlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Parishes

Guide to Greystead, Northumberland family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Greystead, Northumberland
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Tindale
County Northumberland
Poor Law Union Bellingham PLU
Registration District Bellingham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1820
Bishop's Transcripts: 1818
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bellingham
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Northumberland Record Office

Contents

Parish History

GREYSTEAD, or Gaystead, a parish in the union of Bellingham, N. W. division of Tindale ward, S. division of Northumberland, 20 miles (N. W.) from Hexham with the townships of Chirdon and Smalesmouth.[1]

Additional information:

GREYSTEAD St Luke includes Chirdon and Smalesmouth, which were separated from the ancient parish of Simonburn by act of parliament, in 1811, and consists principally of moors and mountains and high Forest.

The church, situated on the south side of the North Tyne on the main road to Falstone and Kielder, is a plain building of stone in the Gothic style, consisting of nave, south porch and low embattled western tower, containing one bell: the church was restored and reseated in 1879, and has 150 sittings. The register dates from the year 1818. The living is a rectory, average tithe rent-charge £126, net yearly value £150, including 15 acres of glebe, with residence, in the gift of the Commissioners of Greenwich Hospital, and held since 1886 by the Rev. Francis William Ames, of Trinity College, Dublin. [Kelly's Durham and Northumberland Directory (1890), p.774.]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections Reference number: DDR/EA/PBT/2/117 Date: 1818-1852  Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events. Greystead, St Luke: Records of marriages 1819-1976 are available at  [1]Northumberland Collections Service. Greystead is not included in the IGI or in Boyd's Marriage Index. A transcript of monumental inscriptions (microfiche TN84) is published by Northumberland and Durham Family History Society and these records are also available in book form at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Department.

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438896.

Poor Law Unions

Bellingham Poor Law Union, Northumberland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 17 December 2013.
Add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 May 2014, at 18:46.
  • This page has been accessed 637 times.