Grinton, Yorkshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Grinton, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Hundred||West Gilling; West Hang|
|Poor Law Union||Reeth PLU|
|Parish registers: 1640|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1674|
|Diocese||Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Eastern Deaneries - Catterick|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
Grinton St Augustine is an extensive Ancient Parish in the county of Yorkshire.Other places in the parish include: Oxnop, Low Row, Reeth High Moor, Reeth with Fremington and Henalaugh, Satron, Summer Lodge, Thwaite, West Grinton, West Stones Dale, Whitaside, Whiteaside, Winterings, Angram, Birkdale, Cogden, Crackpot, East Stones Dale, Feetham, Fremington, Gunnerside with Lodge Green, Harkerside, Harkerside Moor, Ivelet and Calvert House, Keld and Thornes, and Reeth.
GRINTON (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union of Richmond, partly in the wapentake of Hang-West,and partly in that of Gilling-West, N. riding of York, 9½ miles (W. by S.) from Richmond; containing 4811 inhabitants, of whom 594 are in the township of Grinton. The parish includes the townships of Melbecks, Muker, and Reeth. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online data content from chapelry registers of Grinton exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|FMP= FindMyPast - (£)|
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|IARC = Archive.org|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|GRINTON PARISH (1640) Online Records|
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464232.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- ↑ Lewis,fckLRSamuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 344-347. Date accessed: 22 November 2013
- ↑ 'Yorkshire Parish Records - Parish List,' findmypast, accessed 7 October 2014.
- ↑ http://www.freereg.org.uk/parishes/nry.htm 'Yorkshire North Riding,'] FreeREG, accessed 22 October 2014.
- This page was last modified on 12 May 2015, at 20:31.
- This page has been accessed 2,580 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News