Gunby St Peter, Lincolnshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Gunby St Peter, Lincolnshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.pngLincolnshire Parishes

Guide to Gunby St Peter, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Gunby St Peter, Lincolnshire
Gunby St Peter Lincolnshire.jpg
Gunby St Peter Lincolnshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Candleshoe
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Spilsby
Registration District Spilsby
Records begin
Parish registers: 1724
Bishop's Transcripts: 1591
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Candleshoe
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office


Parish History

Gunby is a hamlet about 1 mile east of  Candleby and the civil parish is Candleby with Gunby.

Gunby Hall was built around 1700 for Sir William Massingberd, and was the former seat of the Massingberd family. The last in residence was Field Marshall Sir Archibald Montgomery-Massingberd. Today the hall is owned by the National Trust, and is Grade I listed.

The Ancient Parish church of St Peter is within the Gunby Hall Park and was rebuilt in 1870 to replace the mediaeval predecessor on the same site.

This parish should not be confused with Gunby St Nicholas, Lincolnshire or Stainby with Gunby St Nicholas, Lincolnshire.

GUNBY (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Spilsby, Wold division of the wapentake of Candleshoe, parts of Lindsey, county of Lincoln, 5¼ miles (E.) from Spilsby. [1]


Civil Registration

This parish was in the Burgh sub-district of Spilsby registration district.

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives,

St Rumbold Street

Enquiries: The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue.

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images  via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Gunby St Peter Par 1 will identify available images.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Gunby St Peter

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438764.

See Lincolnshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Spilsby Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 348-360. Date accessed: 21 August 2013.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 1 May 2015, at 05:05.
  • This page has been accessed 2,005 times.