Gunton, Suffolk GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Gunton, Suffolk)
England  Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk   Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk Parishes
Gunton, Suffolk
Gunton Church Suffolk.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Mutford and Lothingland
County Suffolk
Poor Law Union Mutford and Lothingland
Registration District Mutford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1739
Bishop's Transcripts: 1698
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Lothingland
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Suffolk
Location of Archive
Suffolk Record Office

Contents

Parish

Gunton St Peter is an ancient parish in the Diocese of Norwich and the county of Suffolk. The round tower church was substantially remodeled in the 1890's and the tower and some interior features are all that remain of the medieval church. The church was always linked to Gunton Hall and it's owners.

GUNTON (St. Peter), a parish, in the hundred of Mutford and Lothingland, E. division of Suffolk, 1½ mile (N. by W.) from Lowestoft. [1]

Refer to the works listed in Suffolk Gazetteers or England Gazetteers for source material.

Parish Records

Gunton, Suffolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[3][4][5]
FREG = FreeREG - free[6]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[7]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[8]
Gunton, Suffolk Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1740-1754

FMP 1741-1902 1740-1897 1735-1900
FREG 1739-1912
1740-1904
1739-1908
JOIN
1813-1837

NBI

1739-1900

Images of the parish registers for this parish are available on Record Search the early years of the registers from 1734-1754 are in a volume of combined registers with the early register of Ashby from 1553 and Herringfleet 

Cemetery: Municipal

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474640.


References

  1. Lewis,Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 360-362. Date accessed: 30 September 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Suffolk Baptism Index 1538-1911', Find My Past, accessed 5 January 2016.
  4. 'Suffolk Marriage Index Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 6 December 2013.
  5. 'Suffolk "Early" Burial Index Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 6 December 2013.
  6. 'Suffolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 3 December 2013.
  7. 'Suffolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 3 December 2013.
  8. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 4 December 2013.

Poor Law Unions


Registration Districts

Gunton is in Mutford district. To search an index of Mutford district records go to FreeBMD. The Suffolk Civil Registration article tells more about these records. Civil Registration began in 1837.

Maps


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 11 January 2016, at 04:41.
  • This page has been accessed 2,177 times.