Gwaenysgor, FlintshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

WalesGotoarrow.pngFlintshireGotoarrow.pngGwaenysgor

A guide to genealogy in Gwaenysgor, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Gwaenysgor, or Gwaunysgor, is a village and ecclesiastical parish in Flintshire, Wales. It is in the community of Trelawnyd and Gwaenysgor.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Flintshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Clwyd. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Flintshire.

Contents

History

In 1856: "This parish, which is embosomed in hills, and surrounded by lofty mountains, abounds with lead ore, and very extensive mines have been worked for many years with considerable advantage to the proprietors.
The village is pleasantly situated at the base of a ridge of hills, on the summit of which are numerous verdant tumuli, supposed to be the sepulchres of persons of distinction at some remote period." [From Handbook for the Vale of Clwyd, William Davis, 1856]

For more information on Gwaenysgor see: Genuki - Gwaenysgor

Administration

Years County
before 31 March 1974 Flintshire
1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996 Clwyd
from 1 April 1996 Flintshire

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464324.

Probate Records

Poor Law Union Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 June 2013, at 22:13.
  • This page has been accessed 481 times.