Llanwnws, CeredigionEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Gwnnws Isaf, Cardiganshire)

WalesGotoarrow.pngCeredigionGotoarrow.pngParishes of Historic Cardiganshire Gotoarrow.pngLlanwnws

A guide to genealogy in Llanwnws, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Llanwnws is a village and ecclesiastical parish in Ceredigion, Wales. In comprises the townships of Gwnnws Usaf and Gwnnws Uchaf.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Cardiganshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Ceredigion.

Contents

History

LLANWNWS (LLAN-WNWS), a parish, comprising the townships of GWNNWS-ISÂV or Lower, and GWNNWS UCHÂV,or Upper, which separately maintain their own poor, in the upper division of the hundred of ILAR, county of CARDIGAN, SOUTH WALES, 11 miles (S.E. by S ) from Aberystwith, and 15 ( N.N.E.) from Lampeter. This parish, which extends nearly fourteen miles in length, and, upon the average, three miles in breadth, comprises a wide tract nearly in the centre of the county, bounded on the north by the river Ystwith, and on the south by the Teivy. The church, dedicated to St. Gwnnws, is a small edifice, consisting of a nave and chancel, built in 1829. Four Sunday schools are held, two of them in connexion with the Established Church, one with the Calvinistic Methodists, and one with the Baptist denomination.[1]

For more information see Gwnnws at Genuki.

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464303.

Probate Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales (1849), pp. 157-165. Adapted. Date accessed: 21 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 January 2014, at 20:03.
  • This page has been accessed 634 times.