Haddenham, Cambridgeshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Haddenham, Cambridgeshire)

England Gotoarrow.png CambridgeshireGotoarrow.pngCambridgeshire Parishes

Guide to Haddenham, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Haddenham, Cambridgeshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Witchford
County Cambridgeshire
Poor Law Union Ely
Registration District Ely
Records begin
Parish registers: 1570
Bishop's Transcripts: 1599
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ely
Diocese Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Ely
Location of Archive
Cambridgeshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HADDENHAM (Holy Trinity), a parish, in the union of Ely, hundred of South Witchford, Isle of Ely, county of Cambridge, 6½ miles (S. W. by W.) from Ely. There are places of worship for Baptists and Wesleyans.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Parish registers for Haddenham, 1570-1876 at FHL

Bishop's transcripts for Haddenham, 1599-1837 at FHL

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Calvinistic Baptist
  • Particular Baptist
  • Society of Friends/Quaker
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241229.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Haddenham on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England,(1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 09 January 2014.



 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 January 2016, at 06:50.
  • This page has been accessed 2,189 times.