Hadstock, Essex GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Hadstock, Essex)

EnglandGotoarrow.png Essex England Gotoarrow.png Essex Parishes

Guide to Hadstock, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Hadstock, Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Freshwell
County Essex
Poor Law Union Linton PLU
Registration District Linton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Sampford
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (Essex and Hertfordshire Division)
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Hadstock, is a village and a parish in the district of Linton and county of Essex. The village stands near the boundary with Camgridgeshire, 1 mile S of Linton railway station, and 4 miles ENE of Chesterford.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Hadstock, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[2]
Hadstock, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
ESSEX
1558-1871
1559-1956
1559-1935
Non-Conformist Churches
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Primitive Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241368.


Poor Law Unions

Linton Poor Law Union, Cambridgeshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

Hadstock on GENUKI

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870). Adapted: date accessed 21 May 2013.
  2. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 10 September 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 April 2015, at 14:25.
  • This page has been accessed 2,071 times.