Halesowen, WorcestershireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Worcestershire Gotoarrow.png Worcestershire Parishes

Halesowen, Worcestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Brimstree; Halfshire
County Worcestershire
Poor Law Union Stourbridge PLU
Registration District Bromsgrove; Stourbridge; West Bromwich
Records begin
Parish records: 1559; Separate registers exist for Romsley beginning 1736
Bishop's Transcripts: 1613
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Kidderminster
Diocese Worcester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Worcester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Worcestershire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HALES-OWEN (St. Mary and St. John the Evangelist), a market-town and parish, in the unions of Bromsgrove, Stourbridge, and West Bromwich, partly in the Upper division of the hundred of Halfshire, Hales-Owen and E. divisions of Worcestershire, and partly in the Lower division of the same hundred, Stourbridge and Dudley, and E. divisions of the county, 7 miles (W. by S.) from Birmingham, 20 (N. by E.) from Worcester, 42 (S. E.) from Shrewsbury, and 120 (N. W.) from London. There are places of worship for Wesleyans and others.[1]

Additional information:

Halesowen St John is an Ancient Parish in the county of Worcestershire. [Frankley, Worcestershire]] is a chapelry of Halesowen.

Other places in the parish include: Cakemore, Warley Wigorn, Hawn, Hawne, Hill, Hunnington, Illey, Lapal, Lappall, Lutley, North Hill, Ridgacre, Romsley, The Hill, Warley Salop, Warley Wighorn, and Hasbury.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

See West Midlands BMD

Church records

Halesowen St John

Dudley Archives has deposited Parish registers Bap 1549-1948  Marr 1599-1966 Bur 1559-1949

From this parish were formed:

Hasbury

Dudley Archives has deposited Parish registers Bap 1908-1965 Marr 1957-1971

Halesowen St Peter Lapal

Dudley Archives has deposited Parish registers Bap 1950-1986 Marr 1971-1985

Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474583.

Poor Law Unions

Stourbridge Poor Law Union, Worcestershire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Worcestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.


Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 08 October 2013.


Worcester Branch of the Birmingham and Midland Society for Genealogy and Heraldry
Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.


http://www.worcesterbmsgh.co.uk/Halesowen.html

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:54.
  • This page has been accessed 1,014 times.