Halkyn, FlintshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

WalesGotoarrow.pngFlintshireGotoarrow.pngHalkyn

A guide to genealogy in Halkyn, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Halkyn (Welsh: Helygain) is a village, community and ecclesiastical parish in Flintshire, Wales.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Flintshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Clwyd. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Flintshire.

Contents

History

"HALKYN (HELYGLEN), a parish in the Northrop division of the hundred of Coleshill, county of Flint, 3 miles (S.E. by S.) from Holywell on the road from Chester to Holyhead, containing 1538 inhabitants. The tract of county in which this parish is situated was, at the time of the Norman Conquest, called Alchene, from which its present name is derived....The village, which has arisen within the present century, and greatly increased since the discovery of some rich mines in the vicinity, is pleasantly situated in a fertile district; and the elevated ground adjacent to it commands a fine prospect of the surrounding scenery which, on the north, east and south expands into an almost boundless view. .... The church, dedicated to St. Mary, is a small modern edifice, erected in 1745 and contains several good monuments. In the village is a place of worship for Wesleyan Methodists; at Pentre, one for Calivnistic methodists; and at Trev y Cae, one for Independents.."    [A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, 1833, Samuel Lewis]

For more information on Halkyn see: Genuki - Halkyn

Administration

Years County
before 31 March 1974 Flintshire
1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996 Clwyd
from 1 April 1996 Flintshire

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464323.

Probate Records

Poor Law Union Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 June 2013, at 16:57.
  • This page has been accessed 615 times.